Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Date Posted — September 01, 2005
| More

Fifteen drivers of the NASCAR Grand National Division, West Series are receiving a combined $50,000 in prize money for the second portion of the leader bonus program for this season.

The prize money, part of the overall $350,000 point fund award for 2005, will be presented to the drivers on Friday, Sept. 2, prior to the start of the Relocate Here 200 presented by San Bernardino County at California Speedway in Fontana, Calif.

Defending series champion Mike Duncan (No. 9 Lucas Oil/Ron's Rear Ends Chevrolet) of Bakersfield, Calif., will receive $10,000 for accumulating the most points in the fifth through the eighth races. He scored two victories, along with two fourth-place finishes, to net 690 points.

Scott Lynch (No. 08 Harris Trucking/Mr. Gas Dodge) of Burley, Idaho, will take home $6,000. Lynch, who leads the overall championship standings, tallied 685 points during the four-race stretch. His finishes included three runner-up finishes and a third-place finish.

David Gilliland (No. 88 Chevrolet) of Riverside, Calif., will receive $4,000. He accumulated 647 points during the four races. With 644 points, Steve Portenga (No. 16 NAPA Auto Parts/NAPA Belts & Hose Chevrolet) of Sparks, Nev., will be getting $3,750. Brett Thompson (No. 61 Rich Thompson Trucking Chevrolet) of Jerome, Idaho, will collect $3,500 - after scoring 577 points in the four races.

Receiving $3,250 is Mike David (No. 2 Bennett Lane Winery Ford) of Modesto, Calif., with 550 points. With 544 points, Scott Gaylord (No. 00 Oliver Gravity Separators/Denver Seminary Chevrolet) will take home $3,000. Series rookie Andrew Lewis (No. 18 Teen Arrive Alive Chevrolet) of Corona, Calif., tallied 541 points and will receive $2,750. Daryl Harr (No. 71 WestWorld Motorsports Chevrolet) of St. Albert, Alberta, had 540 points and will receive $2,500. For his 539 points, Andrew Myers (No. 44 Toyota of Escondido Chevrolet) of Huntington Beach, Calif., will get $2,250.

Five other drivers sharing in the prize money include Tim Woods III (No. 54 Chino Hills Ford Ford), $2,000; Sarah Fisher (No. 20 NAPA Filters/Domino's/Office Depot Chevrolet), $1,900; Tim Smith (No. 3 Veron Coating Systems Chevrolet), $1,800; Jack Sellers (No. 15 Aramark Pontiac), $1,700 and Takuma Koga (No. 09 Securac/Goodyear Chevrolet), $1,600.

This is the eighth consecutive year that teams in the West Series are being rewarded for their performance through this program. The bonus program began when R.J. Reynolds' Winston brand was title sponsor of the series and has continued with support from NASCAR. The bulk of the overall point fund will be distributed at the end of the season, based on the final championship standings.####

See also
Article posted by staff on September 01, 2005.