Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — Andrew Kunas
Date Posted — September 08, 2008
| More

Jeremy McCune won his first main event of the year in the Big Sky Sprint Tour’s final event of the season Saturday night at Gallatin Speedway, winning the Big Sky Super Nationals. While that was happening, Joe Ramaker clinched the 2008 Big Sky Sprint Tour championship.

McCune, out of Billings, started on the pole and never looked back. Third starting Trevor Kirkland of Helena, Mont. finished second ahead of Bozeman’s Brent Kronfuss, who started the feature event in the eighth starting spot.

Joe Perry, the outside pole sitter, finished fourth and Phil Dietz came home fifth. Tyler Gabel, David Hoiness, Shane Moore, former series champion Paxton Lambrect and Dave Wise rounded out the top ten.

Ramaker, the former Choteau, Mont. resident who now calls Boise, Idaho home, did not have his best outing of the year, finishing 12th in the feature event, but only needed to just start the race to clinch his first Big Sky Sprint Tour title. Ramaker topped Dietz, last year’s champion, by 126 points.

With no dash run, McCune made it a sweep of the evening with his victory in the first heat race over Kirkland and Lambrect. Perry won the second heat race over Gabel and Jerry Brey, who finished 11th in the feature.

More information on the Big Sky Sprint Tour can be found online at

Race Results -- 09/06/2008
Big Sky Super Nationals
Heat 1: 1. 0J Jeremy McCune, 2. 37 Trevor Kirkland, 3. 7x Paxton Lambrect, 4. 72 Phil Deitz, 5. 88 Calvin Stumpf, 6. 49 Shane Moore, 7. 75 Dave Wise.

Heat 2: 1. 28 Joe Perry, 2. 32 Tyler Gabel, 3. 17j Jerry Brey, 4. 9k Brent Kronfuss, 5. 27dd David Hoiness, 6. 98 Joe Ramaker, 7. 38 Jerry Brown Jr.

Feature: 1. 0J Jeremy McCune, 2. 37 Trevor Kirkland, 3. 9k Brent Kronfuss, 4. 28 Joe Perry, 5. 72 Phil Dietz, 6. 32 Tyler Gabel, 7. 27dd David Hoiness, 8. 49 Shane Moore, 9. 7x Paxton Lambrect, 10. 75 Dave Wise, 11. 17j Jerry Brey, 12. 98 Joe Ramaker, 13. 88 Calvin Stumpf, 14. 38 Jerry Brown Jr.
See also
Article posted by staff on September 08, 2008.