Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Date Posted — November 02, 2008
| More

SACRAMENTO, California — Eric Holmes took home his second championship trophy in the NASCAR Camping World Series West during a special awards ceremony in the Sacramento Convention Center on Saturday.

The championship celebration culminated with 34-year-old, second-generation driver from Escalon, Calif., being presented the prestigious NASCAR championship ring by NASCAR’s Managing Director of Racing Operations, George Silbermann.

Holmes is now two-for-two, having won championships both seasons he ran the full schedule of events in the NASCAR Camping World Series West – 2006 and 2008.

In addition to the championship ring and trophy, Holmes also won this year’s Coors Light Pole Award, the Camping World Happy Camper Award, and the Aero Exhaust Lap Leader Award. In addition, he was presented with a special trophy from Goodyear.

Other championship awards included the presentation of the Champion Owner trophy to Bill McAnally, who won three consecutive titles between 1999 and 2001. Brad Shaffer, Vice President Western Division of Genuine Parts Company, was on hand to receive the Champion Sponsor trophy for NAPA Auto Parts. The Lunati Champion Crew Chief Award, meanwhile, went to the team’s crew chief, Ty Joiner.

In addition to the championship hardware, there were many other honors presented during the ceremony. Jeff Barkshire of Auburn, Wash., took home the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award and the third-place trophy overall. Second-place honors went to Jason Bowles of Ontario, Calif.

Moses Smith of Tempe, Ariz., received the prestigious Most Popular Driver Award. For the first time, balloting for the Most Popular Driver Award was conducted online – on and the NASCAR Home Tracks website – resulting in thousands of votes being cast by NASCAR Camping World Series fans for their favorite driver.

A participant in NASCAR’s Drive for Diversity program, Mike Gallegos of Wheat Ridge, Colo., received the Driver Achievement Award. This year’s Sportsmanship Award went to car owner Jim Offenbach, whose Golden Gate Racing Team has a driver development program with Richard Childress Racing.

Jim Inglebright of Fairfield, Calif., received this year’s POWERade Award. The Featherlite Most Improved Driver Award went to Austin Cameron of El Cajon, Calif.

Bob and Kathy Butcher, Motor Racing Outreach chaplains assigned to the series, were presented with a special award – the Spencer Clark Driven Foundation Award. Clark was an up-and-coming driver when he tragically died in an auto accident in 2006.

This year’s awards ceremony featured Mike Joy of Fox Sports as master of ceremonies.

See also
Article posted by staff on November 02, 2008.