RacingWest
Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register

BLACKBIRD BEND SPEEDWAY ADDED TO USMTS CASEY'S GENERAL STORES NATIONAL TOUR CAMPAIGN

USMTS CASEY'S GENERAL STORES NATIONAL TOUR
Source — USMTS Media Relations
Date Posted — March 01, 2009
| More

ONAWA, Iowa — Listed as “TBA” when the USMTS Casey's General Stores National Tour schedule was released last month, June 19 will now find the mud-slinging USMTS Modifieds at the Blackbird Bend Speedway in Onawa, Iowa.

The USMTS Casey's General Stores National Tour last visited Blackbird Bend on April 14, 2006. A doubleheader was scheduled with Mark Noble winning the first night and Mother Nature claiming the second night. A planned 2007 stop also fell to wet weather.

The Blackbird Bend Speedway is a 5/16-mile semi-banked clay oval located 35 miles south of Sioux City, Iowa, or 60 miles north of Omaha, Neb., on the Omaha Indian Reservation next to CasinOmaha. From the north, take I-29 south to exit 120, turn right (west) on to K25 for 0.3 mile, then turn left on K42 for 5.5 miles. From the south, take I-29 north to exit 112, turn left (west) to SR-175 for 1 mile, then turn right onto Dogwood Ave. for 1.5 miles, then turn left on K42 for 2.5 miles. For more information, call 402-841-0165 or visit www.blackbirdbend.net.

For the 11th straight season, the rugged road warriors of the USMTS Casey's General Stores National Tour will thrill race fans in America's heartland with an aggressive 2009 campaign which features 61 events at 40 different venues in 10 different States.

The schedule is highlighted with return engagements to 31 facilities that hosted an USMTS Casey's General Stores National Tour event last season, two facilities returning to the line-up after a two-year hiatus and seven new venues encompassing some of the most exciting dirt ovals in America.

2009 USMTS CASEY'S GENERAL STORES NATIONAL TOUR SCHEDULE

Great Plains Region (10 events):

Fri Mar 6 … Junction Motor Speedway, McCool Junction, NE ($2,000 to win)

Sat Mar 7 … Junction Motor Speedway, McCool Junction, NE ($3,000 to win)

Thu Jun 4 … Buena Vista Raceway, Alta, IA ($2,000 to win)

Fri Jun 5 … Murray County Speedway, Slayton, MN ($2,000 to win)

Tue Jun 16 … Park Jefferson Speedway, Jefferson, SD ($2,000 to win)

Wed Jun 17 … Casino Speedway, Watertown, SD ($2,000 to win)

Thu Jun 18 … Huset’s Speedway, Brandon, SD ($2,000 to win)

Fri Jun 19 … Blackbird Bend Speedway, Onawa, IA ($2,000 to win)

Sat Jun 20 … Adams County Speedway, Corning, IA ($2,000 to win)

Sun Jun 21 … Nobles County Speedway, Worthington, MN ($2,000 to win)

Mo-Kan Region (13 events):

Fri Mar 13 … Caney Valley Speedway, Caney, KS ($2,000 to win)

Sat Mar 14 … Humboldt Speedway, Humboldt, KS ($2,000 to win)

Fri Mar 27 … LA Raceway, La Monte, MO ($2,000 to win)

Sat Mar 28 … Thunderhill Speedway, Mayetta, KS ($2,000 to win)

Fri Apr 3 … West Siloam Speedway, West Siloam Springs, OK ($2,000 to win)

Sat Apr 4 … West Siloam Speedway, West Siloam Springs, OK ($3,000 to win)

Fri Apr 10 … Tri-City Speedway, Granite City, IL ($2,000 to win)

Sat Apr 11 … 24 Raceway Park, Moberly, MO ($2,000 to win)

Fri May 15 … Midway Speedway, Lebanon, MO ($2,000 to win)

Sat May 16 … Springfield Raceway, Springfield, MO ($2,000 to win)

Sun May 17 … Monett Speedway, Monett, MO ($2,000 to win)

Fri Jun 26 … U.S. 36 Raceway, Osborn, MO ($2,000 to win)

Sat Jun 27 … Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, MO ($2,000 to win)

Upper Midwest Region (12 events):Thu May 21 … Cresco Speedway, Cresco, IA ($2,000 to win)

Fri May 22 … Chateau Raceway, Lansing, MN ($2,000 to win)

Sat May 23 … Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, MN ($2,000 to win)

Sun May 24 … Dodge County Speedway, Kasson, MN ($2,000 to win)

Mon May 25 … Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, WI ($2,000 to win)

Tue Jun 2 … Hancock County Speedway, Britt, IA ($2,000 to win)

Sat Jun 6 … Upper Iowa Speedway, Decorah, IA ($2,000 to win)

Wed Jun 24 … I-35 Speedway, Mason City, IA ($2,000 to win)

Thu Jul 23 … Fayette County Speedway, West Union, IA ($2,000 to win)

Fri Jul 24 … Elko Speedway, Elko, MN ($2,000 to win)

Sat Jul 25 … Elko Speedway, Elko, MN ($3,000 to win)

Tue Aug 4 … Cresco Speedway, Cresco, IA ($2,000 to win)

Central States Region (10 events):Tue May 19 … Southern Iowa Speedway, Oskaloosa, IA ($2,000 to win)

Wed May 20 … Marshalltown Speedway, Marshalltown, IA ($2,000 to win)

Mon Jun 1 … Iowa State Fair Speedway, Des Moines, IA ($2,000 to win)

Wed Jun 3 … Highway 3 Raceway, Allison, IA ($2,000 to win)

Tue Jun 23 … Mineral City Speedway, Fort Dodge, IA ($2,000 to win)

Thu Jun 25 … TBA

Wed Aug 5 … Southern Iowa Speedway, Oskaloosa, IA ($2,000 to win)

Thu Aug 6 … Knox County Fairgrounds, Knoxville, IL ($2,000 to win)

Fri Aug 7 … Kankakee County Speedway, Kankakee, IL ($2,000 to win)

Sat Aug 8 … 24 Raceway Park, Moberly, MO ($2,000 to win)

The Hunt for the USMTS Casey's General Stores National Championship (18 events):

Tue Aug 11 … LA Raceway, La Monte, MO ($3,000 to win)

Wed Aug 12 … Monett Speedway, Monett, MO ($3,000 to win)

Thu Aug 13 … Springfield Raceway, Springfield, MO ($3,000 to win)

Fri Aug 14 … Humboldt Speedway, Humboldt, KS ($3,000 to win)

Sat Aug 15 … Heartland Park Topeka, Topeka, KS ($3,000 to win)

Thu Aug 20 … Steele County Speedway, Owatonna, MN ($3,000 to win)

Fri Aug 21 … Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, WI ($3,000 to win)

Sat Aug 22 … Upper Iowa Speedway, Decorah, IA ($3,000 to win)

Wed Sep 2 … Highway 3 Raceway, Allison, IA ($3,000 to win)

Thu Sep 3 … Buena Vista Raceway, Alta, IA ($3,000 to win)

Fri Sep 4 … Chateau Raceway, Lansing, MN ($3,000 to win)

Sat Sep 5 … Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, MN ($3,000 to win)

Sun Sep 6 … Dodge County Speedway, Kasson, MN ($3,000 to win)

Fri Sep 18 … North Central Speedway, Brainerd, MN ($2,000 to win)

Sat Sep 19 … North Central Speedway, Brainerd, MN ($3,000 to win)

Thu Sep 24 … Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, MN ($2,000 to win)

Fri Sep 25 … Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, MN ($4,000 to win)

Sat Sep 26 … Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, MN ($6,000 to win)

The Hunt for the USMTS Casey's General Stores National Championship will be comprised of the final 18 races of the season. The USMTS points system is used at all regional events, with the top-10 in the final standings for each of the four regions (as well as both regions of the USMTS Southern Series) earning a spot in ’The Hunt.’ Any driver who has perfect attendance in a region is also qualified. After the completion of the regional schedule and base points have been established, the USMTS points system will be used at the remaining events to determine the 2009 USMTS Casey's General Stores National Champion. For the fans, the The Hunt serves as a “playoff” for the ultimate prize in dirt modified racing. While handicapping gives a slight advantage to the drivers that compete on the entire USMTS Casey's General Stores National Tour circuit, any of the qualified drivers have a legitimate shot at capturing the crown.

For the sixth straight year, the USMTS Casey's General Stores National Tour will kick off with a doubleheader at the Junction Motor Speedway in McCool Junction, Neb. The 6th Annual Nebraska Spring Thaw is slated for Friday and Saturday, March 6-7. Friday’s event will pay $2,000 to win while the victor in Saturday’s main event will pocket $3,000. More than 70 entries are once again expected for the annual lidlifter at the 3/8-mile high-banked clay oval.

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, call the headquarters at (515) 832-7944 or visit www.usmts.com online for the latest news and information from the USMTS.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USMTS TITLE SPONSOR: Casey’s General Stores.

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Bear Tire Company, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, Childhelp, Gressel Racing, Houston Specialty Products Co., Karl Chevrolet, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, New Vision Graphics, Nitroquest Web Solutions, PBM Performance Products, Q.E.M., Inc., Western Flyer Xpress.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Awesome Racewear, Boom Drilling, Buzzard Racing Engines, Day Motor Sports, Ramirez Race Cars, Olympic Fire Protection, Ruter Farms, Yeager Machine.

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, Belleville Motorsports, BSB Manufacturing, COMP Cams, Duralite Racing Wheels, Dynatech Racing Exhaust, GRT Race Cars, Holley Performance Products, Hyperco, ISKY Racing Cams, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, Quarter Master, QuickTime Performance Race Parts, Real Racing Wheels, US Brake.

####
See also
Article posted by RacingWest.com staff on March 01, 2009. http://www.racingwest.com

Like RacingWest on FaceBook for the latest racing news from your local track and for our infamous Near Lives! Hans Device at UPR.com Lucas Oil Products RaceTeamGear.com - NASCAR Merchandise Ron's Rear Ends