Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — SRL Media Relations
Date Posted — April 30, 2009
| More

BAKERSFIELD, Ca — The largest and strongest field in recent SRL Southwest Tour Series competition will line up for this Sunday’s “Blackjack 121”. This weekend’s race at the Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway is the second event of the 2009 SRL Southwest Tour Series, with a record winner’s prize of $4,000.

"Las Vegas and racing, it doesn't get any better than that!"Dave Byrd

“The Bullring has put together a great two-day event and we are proud to headline the weekend with Sunday’s ‘Blackjack 121’,” stated the SRL’s Larry Collins. “There may not be a better track for tour car racing than the Bullring…it’s a great facility and it’s in Las Vegas, so everyone is really looking forward to the weekend.”

The Bullring will feature two days of competition, including the SRL Southwest Tour Series, Super Late Models, Baby Grand National Cars, Chargers, Bombers, Legends Cars, Bandoleros, USAC Quarter Midgets and Thunder Roadsters. SRL practice on Saturday from 10:30am to 2:30pm, racing on Saturday begins at 7:00 pm featuring the Whelen All-American Series. Sunday, an on-track autograph session will take place at 12 noon, and racing begins at 1pm with a scheduled mid-afternoon start of the SRL Southwest Tour Series “Blackjack 121”.

"Las Vegas and racing, it doesn't get any better than that!” stated SRL point leader Dave Byrd. “The excitement of Las Vegas is a close parallel to racing for me. The images, the action, the electricity in the air, then throw in some racing; I wanted to leave for the track about a week ago!"

Entering the “Blackjack 121”, Dave Byrd leads the 2009 SRL Southwest Tour Series standings with 53 points, followed by M.K. Kanke at 52, Jim Pettit II is third with 46, followed by Greg Voigt at 44, Todd Bammer with 42, Keith Spangler 40, Craig Raudman 40, Joe Farre’ 38, Greg Potts 34, and Jason Gilbert with 32 points rounds out the top ten.

Drivers making their first SRL start of 2009 this weekend include; NASCAR Camping World Series West driver David Mayhew, Southwest Tour veterans Terry Henry and Mike Mendenhall, NASCAR Camping World Series East driver Derek Thorn and Tuscon’s Jerry Thitchener.



1 DAVE BYRD (Chevrolet) SEASIDE, CA Faith Bumper Service, Conti Material Service, Rub It Graphics, Performance Electrical Company 2007 SRL Southwest Tour Series Champion, 13 time track champion, NASCAR Regional Champion

2 CRAIG RAUDMAN (Chevrolet) COTTONWOOD, CA Valvoline Easy Care Centers, JS Plastering, Rub It Graphics, Inventory Sales Company 2001 Southwest Tour Champion, 29 poles and 17 wins in the Southwest Tour

03 JIM PETTIT II (Ford) PRUNEDALE, CA Golden Gate Petroleum, Top of the Hill Performance, Mom & Dad 2008 SRL Southwest Tour Series Champion, 2004 Southwest Tour Champion, 2005 Southwest Tour Champion, 2000 Tri-Track Challenge Champion, Voted top 25 NASCAR Short Track Drive of all time

3 TROY ERMISH (Chevrolet) FREMONT, CA Allied Auto, AN, Freightrain Peters Racing Engines, Rub It Graphics, Inventory Sales Company 18 years of racing experience, 2 time Import Drag Racing Champion, 3 time Vintage Road Racing Champion

4 GREG VOIGT (Chevrolet) GOLETA, CA Auto Pro Racing Engines, JN Designs, Voigt Motorsports, Smitty's Towing 2 time Champion @ Ventura Raceway (Street Stock Division), 2000 Irwindale Super Late Model Champion, 3 years at the Toyota All Star Showdown

5 DAVID MANTOOTH (Chevrolet) COTATI, CA Mantooth Construction 21 years of racing experience

7 JOSH COMBS (Ford) SACRAMENTO, CA The Country Bear, California Upholstering Co., Edition Graphics, Bell Racing 2008 SRL Southwest Tour Series Rookie of the Year, Racing Karts since he was 8 years old, 4 top 5's out of 5 starts in 2006.

09 BRENNAN NEWBERRY (Chevrolet) BAKERSFIELD, CA NTS Motorsports, Excel Equiptment, Alpine Stars

9 JUSTIN WESTMORELAND (Ford) MADERA, CA 3M Automotive Aftermarkets, Advance Concrete Solutions 2003 & 2005 Madera Late Model Champion, 2 time Iron Man 100 winner, 2003 Kart Speedway National Champion

10 MIKE MENDENHALL (Chevrolet) SANTEE, CA Racing in Memory of Chris Trickle 21 years of racing experience, 56 wins at Cajon Speedway.

14 REX LOCKWOOD (Chevrolet) VICTORVILLE, CA Prime Time Racing 15 years of racing experience

16 TYLER MONROE (Pontiac) STAR, ID John Wood, Rustic River 13 years of racing experience

17 DARRELL LAMOURE (Chevrolet) NEW RIVER, AZ Arizona Components Co., Truck Works Inc. 21 years of racing experience

19 TERRY HENRY (Chevrolet) BAKERSFIELD, CA MMI Racing, Ron's Rear Ends


24 SCOTT SANCHEZ LIVERMOORE, CA Diablo, Marketing Group, Del Sol Productions, Malpede's Construction, Big O Tires 8 years of racing experience

27 GREG POTTS MANTECA, CA Nascimento Motorsports, Economy Signs, Sanborn Chevrolet, Gunsch Electric 20 years of racing experience

28 KEVIN CALLAHAN (Ford) BAKERSFIELD, CA Bedrosians Marble and Tile, Guilmarra Vineyards, Delfino Homes, Dobitz Construction, Bertolucci Construction, Callahan Construction 2001 and 2005 National Kart Champion, 2001 - 2005 Cal State Karting Champion, 4 time Bakersfield Kart Club Champion

29 DAVID MAYHEW (Chevrolet) ATASCADERO, CA MMI Racing, Ron's Rear Ends

33 M.K. KANKE (Chevrolet) FRAZIER PARK, CA Sims Trucking, RPM - PSI 1983 Ascot Park Champion, 212 career starts and 22 wins in the NASCAR Southwest Series (most wins in NASCAR Southwest Tour Series history), More top five finishes than any driver in the history of the NASCAR Southwest Series

37 KEITH SPANGLER (Chevrolet) CHATSWORTH, CA Spangler Racing, DM Motorsports, Ron's Rear Ends 24 years of experience, Southwest Tour, SRL Southwest Tour Series

38 JOHN WOOD (Pontiac) EAGLE, ID

54 JOE FARRE' (Chevrolet) HENERSON, NV Sigma Engineering Soloutions, LVI Environmental, Bruno's Pepper Co., Bullet Proof 19 years of racing experience


See also
Article posted by staff on April 30, 2009.