Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — Lucas Oil Media Relations
Date Posted — September 22, 2009
| More

CORONA, California — The Lucas Oil Motorsports Hour returns to the airwaves on Tuesday Night, September 22nd with a preview of the 30th Annual Jackson 100, which will be held this weekend at Brownstown (IN) Speedway featuring the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

The one-hour live internet broadcast can be heard starting at 8 PM Eastern/7 PM Central on with host James Essex. On the show this week will be Ray Cook, Don O'Neal, Mike Jewell and John Gill.

Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC comes into this weekend as winner of two of the last three Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series races including a career-best $41,000 victory in the Hillbilly 100 on September 7th at Tyler County Speedway in Middlebourne, WV. He is currently sixth in the series point's standings and has won four main events this season, which ties Jimmy Owens and Brian Birkhofer for the most wins on the LOLMDS 2009 Tour.

Also on the show will be Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN. He is currently fifth in the Lucas Oil Series points and has won the Jackson 100 three times in his racing career. O'Neal has two series wins in 2009 and 50 feature wins at Brownstown, the track he started his Late Model career at in 1991.

Mike Jewell of Scottsburg, IN will be on the broadcast for the first time to talk about his chances in this weekend's Jackson 100 at Brownstown Speedway. He leads all drivers in the Late Model Division at Brownstown this year with four feature wins including the Hoosier Dirt Classic. He has 28 career wins at Brownstown. He will be on the program to talk about again trying to win his first Jackson 100 and about his battle against cancer which he has successfully fought this year.

Another Brownstown Speedway veteran will be on the Lucas Oil Motorsports Hour for the first time with the "Modern Day Cowboy" John Gill of Mitchell, IN joining the program from the road. He will talk about his season to date as he is back racing with Terry Eaglin Motorsports this year. He is the second all-time winningest driver in Brownstown history with 54 feature wins which includes two Jackson 100 victories, in a career that started at the Jackson County Fairgrounds oval back in 1981.

The Lucas Oil Motorsports Hour is on-demand with previous shows archived for listening at

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, go to or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.

2009 Championship Points Standings

1. Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN) 6700

2. Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) 6500

3. Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) 6255

4. Dale McDowell (Chickamauga, GA) 6250

5. Don O'Neal (Martinsville, IN) 6060

6. Ray Cook (Brasstown, NC) 5890

7. Brad Neat (Dunnville, KY) 5475

8. Steve Casebolt (Richmond, IN) 5445

9. John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) 5025

10. Eric Jacobsen (Seacliffe Beach, CA) 5015

11. Dan Schlieper (Sullivan, WI) 4755

12. David Breazeale (Four Corners, MS) 3880

13. Freddy Smith (Seymour, TN) 3830

15. Michael Walker (Franklin, TN) 3230

2009 Quarter Master Rookie of the Year Points Standings

1. John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) 5445

2. David Breazeale (Four Corners, MS) 3880

3. Michael Walker (Franklin, TN) 3230

4. Jeep VanWormer (Pinnconning, MI) 2090

See also
Article posted by staff on September 22, 2009.