Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — Kenny Shepherd
Date Posted — November 16, 2009
| More

The 2009 Track Champions from both the Madera and Chowchilla Speedways will be honored this Friday night at the Awards Banquet to be held at Hatfield Hall at the Madera Fairgrounds. This is going to be one special night as it will bring the top drivers from Central California together from both dirt and pavement racing.

Troy Regier will be honored as the Super Saturday Super Modified Champion; also on the stage will be Madera Speedway Champions Lance Tatro, Kyle Gottula, Jason Aguirre, Donnie Large, Jason Kerns, and Dean Davidson.

Alex Stanford will be honored as the Western Modified Champion; also on the stage will be Chowchilla Speedway Champions Mike Shepherd, Jarrod Fast, Kathy Evans, Kris Koontz, and Tim Prothro.

Many other top drivers from Madera Speedway will be honored with trophies during the banquet, such as Matt Erickson, Carlos Vieira, Ross Strmiska, and Rick Thompson in the late model division. The top ten drivers in the ALSC, MST, and Toyota Sedan divisions will receive trophies. The top five in the Hornet division will receive trophies as well.

Many other top drivers from Chowchilla Speedway will be honored with trophies during the banquet, such as Mike Villanueva, Robbie Jeppeson, Ray Mayer, and Bill Egelston in the Western Modified division. The top ten drivers in the Hobby Stock, and 4-Banger divisions will receive trophies, the top five in the Super Stock and Sportsman divisions will receive trophies, and Chris Koontz and Christian “the Weasel” Hickman will receive trophies for the Spec Sprint class.

There will be many surprise awards handed out such as most Improved Drivers, Sportsman/Women of the year, Rookie of the Year, Craftsman Mechanic of the Year, Most Valuable Player (MVP), and several special thanks awards.

The deadline to RSVP for the banquet has been moved back to Wednesday the 18th at 5:00pm. To RSVP you must call Pat Patnaude at 209-479-0056. We would like to thank our catering company for working with us on this extended deadline.

Happy Hour starts at 6:00pm, dinner is at 7:00pm, and the Awards Banquet begins at 8:30pm. Following the Awards Ceremonies will be a raffle of various prizes and all of the proceeds go the Chowchilla Boys and Girls Club as well as the Valley Children’s Hospital.

The banquet is open to the public as well as the race teams.

See also
Article posted by staff on November 16, 2009.

Like RacingWest on FaceBook for the latest racing news from your local track and for our infamous Near Lives! Hans Device at Lucas Oil Products - NASCAR Merchandise Ron's Rear Ends