Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — Bob Cook
Date Posted — May 27, 2010
| More

We had eighteen late models make the trip through rain and snow, hoping it would clear in time for practice. When clouds gave way to blue skies late morning, the trailers were busted open and late models rolled out. After one more short rain delay, it was clear racing. It was a very impressive sight seeing all the Airport Auto Brokers Late Models lined up in pit row and all the teams should be proud for making AABLM Northern California’s premier touring late model series.

The fast time plaque sponsored by Speedy Signs went to Randy Huston who qualified first quick with a 15.690. Next was Mike Doss, who brought a 15.843. Mike Lovell with a 15.947, Dave Miller with 16.003, Kevin Ostern rounded out the top five with 16.016.

Mike Doss, AABLM’s promoter, lined up the cars for both 6 lap trophy dashes by having them draw a card for position. For the A Dash, Huston drew first, and pulled the Ace, putting him on the pole. Doss pulled a 6, Lovell pulled the 3, Miller a 4, Ostern a 5. That left the outside pole to Corey James, Huston won the dash. Following him was James, Lovell, Miller, Doss and Ostern.

Jeremy Donahoo of Cloverdale won the B dash. Following was Allen Gibney, Dallas Shane, Eureka’s regular Brandon Barnwell #56 and Mike Bourbon.

After a long day with rain and a full field of late models, we knew the feature race was going to be an exciting “Scottfeild Executive Hotels 75 laps Feature Event”. Joining the AABLM regulars, were a few of Redwood Acres Raceway’s own. Joe McDonald, Brandon Barnwell and Jerry Peterson were driving double duty in the sportsman’s class. Clay Caturegli had the pole and Jim Stillman was on his outside, Caturegli got the jump on the start and led the next 16 laps. Stillman was leading, when the first of 3 cautions came out on lap 20 for Donahoo hitting the water barrels at the exit gate, giving the spotters in turn 2 an unexpected shower. The Donahoo Excavating #05 retired to the pits for the evening. On the restart, Stillman led the field with hard charging Miller on his tail, following by James, Lovell, Ostern and Caturegli rounding out the top 5. The second caution on lap 47 for Caturegli who spun in turn 4, and the final yellow 3 laps later on lap 50 was in turn 2 for Gibney and Shane. With the weather putting the whole night behind schedule and 25 laps to go, we hear over the official’s radio we had 20 minutes until curfew. Johnny Miskill, the AABLM flagman, came back over the radio to assure everyone we would make it, the drivers were doing an excellent job and that should be our last caution. AABLM was able to get all 75 laps in under curfew. Miller took the checker flag and is another first time winner for AABLM. James, our last race’s winner, finished second, holding onto the points lead. Stillman finished 3rd, Lovell finished 4th, and Doss finished 5th after almost going a lap down from the lap 1 incident. A big thank you to Redwood Acres Raceway for hosting us; we all felt welcomed.

See You at the Track

Bob Cook

See also
Article posted by staff on May 27, 2010.