Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — Montana Raceway Park/dp
Date Posted — August 03, 2010
| More

KALISPELL, Montana — The NASCAR K&N Pro Series West makes its inaugural appearance in the Flathead Valley with the running of the Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts Bonus Challenge presented by TTC Thornton, Fun Beverage, Kalispell Toyota and Bee Broadcasting. Featuring 150 laps of door-to-door excitement, many of the series top drivers have pre-entered for Saturday night’s event.

Also racing this weekend will be the MRP Super Stocks and the Lucas Oil Super Late Models in the Best of the West 125.

NASCAR’s trek to Western Montana, known as the Rumble in the Rockies, kicks off Thursday, Aug. 5 with the State Farm Insurance Fanfest featuring a free dinner provided by Montana Raceway Park, driver meet and greet opportunities and live music.

Leading NASCAR’s charge into the Flathead is series points leader, Eric Holmes. The driver of the No. 20 NAPA Toyota has earned two wins and six top-10 finishes in the series first seven races. Holmes aims to earn his third NASCAR K&N Pro Series West championship, but, David Mayhew may have other plans.

Holmes drives for famed NASCAR West Series car owner, Bill McAnally, and has earned the series championship in 2006 and 2008. Under the guidance of crew chief Matt Goslant, Holmes’ has put himself into contention for a third title after a sub-par 20th place finish in the season-opening event at All-American Speedway in Sacramento, Calif.

Mayhew led the points standings earlier in the season and has a win at Iowa Speedway. The native of Atascadero, Calif. drives the No. 17 MMI Services/Ron’s Rear Ends/Kevin Harvick Inc. Chevrolet for owner Steve McGowen with Terry Henry serving as the crew chief. He finished sixth in the 2009 chase for the NASCAR West Series championship. He scored his first two wins of his career last season and also earned his first three career Coors Light Pole Award.

Late model teams return to Montana Raceway Park just three weeks after the running of the 20th Annual Coors Light Montana 200.

Gary Lewis, who nabbed his fourth straight 200 victory, will be doing double-duty this weekend as the driver of the No. 73 SEFNCO Communications Chevrolet will also be returning to Dick Midgley’s No. 09 Chevrolet. In his lone career NASCAR West Series start on March 27, Lewis drove Midgley’s Impala to a third-place finish en route to picking up the Coca-Cola Move of the Race award for advancing the most positions over the course of 150 laps.

Expected to challenge Lewis in the Lucas Oil Super Late Model race will be Alex Lessor, who is the defending series champion, Brian Levant, who leads the ARCA West Ignite Series drivers standings and is second in MRP late model points and Bodie Morton who finished runner-up to Lessor in the 2009 points chase.

Jason Robinson leads the MRP Super Stock drivers points standings and comes into Friday night’s main event fresh off a win on July 31 in the tracks Mid-Season Madness celebration. Rookie of the Year points leader, Brandon Sickler, trails Robinson by 48 markers with Chuck Swope rounding out the top-5.

Tickets for the NASCAR Rumble in the Rockies are selling fast with a two-day pass special in place through Friday night. For more information log onto call (406) 257-7223 or text MTRACE to 91011.

NASCAR K&N Pro Series West Pre-Registered Drivers Car No./Name/Hometown/Sponsor

2 Daryl Harr St. Albert, AB WestWorld Computers Chevrolet

5 Thomas Martin Auburn, Calif. Greyhound Adoption Ctr. Chevrolet

6 Luis Martinez Jr">Luis Martinez Jr. Long Beach, Calif. King Taco/Sunrise Ford/Lucas Oil Ford

07 Greg Rayl Roseville, Calif. Spectator Racing Ford

09 Gary Lewis Snohomish, Wash. SEFNCO Communications Chevrolet

9 Travis Bennett Ellensburg, Wash. Grape King/Sunrise Ford/Lucas Oil Ford

12 Paulie Harraka Wayne N.J. NAPA Gold Filters Toyota

13 Todd Souza Aromas, Calif. Central Coast Cabinets Chevrolet

14 Travis Milburn Eagle, Idaho Cooks Collision Toyota

15 Jack Sellers Sacramento, Calif. Greyhound adoption Ctr. Chevrolet

16 Moses Smith Tempe, Ariz. HASA Pool Products/White Flyer Toyota

17 David Mayhew Atascadero, Calif. MMI Services/Ron’s Rear Ends/KHI Chevrolet 20 Eric Holmes Escalon, Calif. NAPA Toyota

21 Blake Koch West Palm Beach, Fla. Daystar Chevrolet

22 Jonathan Gomez Twin Falls, Idaho Heritage Cattle/Century Boatland Chevrolet

26 Greg Pursley Newhall, Calif. GPM Performance Parts/Star Nursery Ford

38 Troy Ermish Fremont, Calif. Datsun 510 Parts Outlet Chevrolet

51 Justin Funkhouser Paradise, Calif. Aramark Chevrolet

71 Carl Harr St. Alebert, AB WestWorld Computers Chevrolet

See also
Article posted by staff on August 03, 2010.

Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts Bonus Challenge Results
(top 10)

  1. Eric Holmes
  2. David Mayhew
  3. Moses Smith
  4. Jonathon Gomez
  5. Gary Lewis
  6. Daryl Harr
  7. Blake Koch
  8. Michael Self
  9. Luis Martinez Jr
  10. Todd Souza
[ Full Race Results ]
[ Event Page ]