Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — XXX Race Co./ Kaleb Hart
Date Posted — September 21, 2010
| More

Big race wins and championships continue to roll in at Triple X Race Components. Jac Haudenschild won his 4th World of Outlaws feature of the year and 5th overall for the Carnahan Motorsports #R19 XXX chassis and Brian Montieth won his 9th race of the year against the PA Posse, taking home top honors at the 43rd annual Tuscarora 50 at Port Royal Speedway. Other race winners included Andy Forsberg, Alan Munn, Bill Rude, Jimmy Brookens, Sean McClelland, Jeremy Burt and Jay Cole. By virtue of their race wins, Munn, Rude and Brookens all secured season points championships. Other XXX drivers securing season titles were Seth Hespe and Heath Shelton.

Jac Haudenschild and the Carnahan Motorsports team have been on fire lately. On Friday night at Clay County Speedway in Iowa, Jac and the crew stood in victory lane for the second time in under a month, as the Sprint Car Hall of Famer and his team put together a brilliant night. Haudenschild gradually worked his way forward in the A Feature, passing the likes of Donny Schatz and Sammy Swindell before going to battle with 20 time World of Outlaws Champion Steve Kinser. Haudenschild was up to his old tricks, rim riding the cushion like a 20 year old as he blew by The King en route to victory in his XXX chassis. The win marked Haudenschild's 4th WoO victory of the year, with previous triumphs coming at Paducah, Knoxville and Skagit. The win was number five overall for the R19, as Doug Esh won a feature event at Lebanon Speedway in the potent XXX machine while Jac was recovering from a hand injury.

One of the few small items missing on Brian Montieth's racing resume this year was a win at Port Royal Speedway in Pennsylvania. After 8 feature wins, including an All Star Circuit of Champions victory and a track championship at Lincoln Speedway, Montieth crossed Port Royal off his list as he picked up win number 9 at the 43rd annual Tuscarora 50. After leading the first portion of the race, Montieth ceded the lead to Fred Rahmer for a short stretch around lap 32 before retaking the lead for good just a few laps later. The Premier Auto Works #21 XXX team is now looking toward picking up their first WoO victory, as the traveling circuit makes its way to Williams Grove for the National Open in two weeks.

Make it two wins in three weeks for Andy Forsberg in his XXX chassis. After picking up the win at Petaluma Speedway in the "Run What Ya Brung" wingless 360 race, Andy took his winged 360 sprint to the newly reopened Marysville Raceway Park on Saturday night. After starting 3rd, Forsberg made his way to the lead on lap 10, then fearlessly moved his way through heavy lapped traffic to score the win.

Prior to Saturday night, Alan Munn held the title as most tenured driver at Skagit Speedway, as he has raced on a weekly basis at the track with little interruption for over 30 years. After Saturday night, Alan holds a new title: Champion. The seasoned veteran led all 20 laps of the Budweiser 360 division main event to secure his first season championship at Skagit Speedway over his long career in his Munn Construction #42 XXX.

Bill Rude put everything together in 2010, riding three main event wins to a season championship in the Skagit Speedway Sportsman Sprint division. Rude took over the main event lead on lap 10 after race leader Steve Parker caught some air coming off of turn 4, taking him out of the contest. Rude would lead the final five laps for his third win the Dri Eaz #33 XXX, securing his championship.

In XXX 600 action, Jimmy Brookens enjoyed two wins over Patriot's Day weekend, scoring a Friday night victory at Path Valley Speedway in Pennsylvania, then capturing the track championship Saturday night at Trail Way Speedway. Piloting his XXX mini sprint, Brookens took the lead from fellow Team XXX driver Lance Newlin on lap 2 and led all the way to the final flag on lap 20 to pick up his seventh win of the year. The win tied him atop the Path Valley points chase. On Saturday night, Brookens raced his way to a second place finish at Trail Way Speedway, securing the 2010 points championship. Jimmy was the model of consistency at the Hanover track, finishing in the top ten in 16 of his 17 races there.

Tulsa's Sean McClelland moved one step closer to a second ASCS Sooner Region championship by racing to victory lane in Saturday night's 25-lap feature event on September 11th at Mid-America Speedway. McClelland battled past Kyle Bellm on a lap three restart and then beat Nick Smith in a high-speed chase through heavy traffic on the 3/10-mile clay oval, lapping all the way up to fourth for his second series win of the year aboard the Myers-powered Maxwell Oil No. 1 Triple-X. McClelland is looking to reclaim the Sooner Region crown for Team XXX that his brother Brian held in 2007 and 2008.

In only his third year racing Midgets, Seth Hespe wrapped up his second straight Grays Harbor Focus midget championship. Finishing second in the final race of the season, Seth took home the championship. Congrats Seth, Brian and the team on another great season from all of us at XXX.

Jeremy Burt burst into the XXX win column with a victory on Saturday night September 11th at Antioch Speedway in California. Burt's win furthers his run at the Antioch Speedway points championship, as he was running in the top five in points as of Antioch's last published standings.

Congratulations go out to Team XXX driver Heath Shelton on his limited sprint championship at Cottage Grove Speedway in Oregon. Shelton combined a race win with a handful of top five finishes to secure the championship in his #75 XXX chassis.

After a tough season of close finishes, Jay Cole waited until championship night at Grays Harbor Speedway in Elma, WA to pick up his first win of 2010. Jay closed out the year 3rd in points.

At Triple X Race Co, we want to be writing about YOUR wins and championships. Find your nearest authorized XXX dealer online at or call us at 866.632.9295. Triple X Race Co - Race Inspired. Race Proven. Race XXX and Save!

See also
Article posted by staff on September 21, 2010.