Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Date Posted — April 19, 2011
| More

ROSEVILLE, California — All American Speedway hosted their season opener Friday Night with the Late Models for the NASCAR Whelen All American series. The Late models were the prelude to the BMR event which included NASCAR K&N West, SPEARS SRL and SRL Legends. 19 Late Models entered for the A-All Mini Storage Bonus Challenge 100 Presented by Pick-n-Pull with the highest paying Late Model Purse since 2008.

Practice opened up with No. 27 John Moore running fast time with a 13.785 seconds lap. 10 late models were all within .300 seconds from John Moore with the likes of No. 61 Shannon Mansch, No. 50 Gary Glenn and No.35 Matt Scott. 2009 champion No. 8 Jason Romero returned to action for the Late Model division. Romero had 13 wins during his championship run, tieing the current record of most wins in a season.

Romero was the first car to take the track for qualifying due to complications in practice which led him to lead the way to qualifying. Romero placed his number 8 at the top of the charts with a 13.954 second lap. That time held the fast time through most of qualifying until the last qualifier Matt Scott edged out Romero by .006 seconds with a 13.948 qualifying time. Both Scott and Romero turned down the opportunity to win an additional $1000 Bonus presented by A-All Mini Storage if they win the race by starting last. The invert for the starting lineup was 5 placing Lovelace and Moore on the front row. Lovelace lead the 19 car field down to the first green flag for the All American Speedway 2011 Season. Troubles struck early on completion of lap one causing the first yellow when contact between the No. 27 John Moore and the No. 61 Shannon Mansch which resulted in Mansch spinning in turn 1. During the caution flag the AAS Officials placed the number 27 Moore to the end of the line for his involvement in the yellow flag incident.

The Field went back to green for 33 laps until lap 39 when the No. 22 of Troy Nagosek spun in turn four. Nagosek who runs in the Modified Division made the jump to run a Late Model Race running the Old Media car from BMR. As the field went back to green, No. 55 Zane Lovelace led the field for two laps until No. 35 Matt Scott dove to the inside line in turn 3 to take the top position. Scott began racing with Romero on the straight away when both cars drove side by side into turn one, Scott got loose and almost looped his No. 35 car with 18 other Late Models approaching him. Scott regained control of his car and to hold on to the lead and open up a gap on second position on back. Romero began to fall back to third while a field of 9 cars behind him were all stacked up for the 4th position. After a caution, AAS Champs Scott and Romero both started on the front row. As the green dropped Romero got hung out on the outside which allowed No. 44 Ron Chunn, No. 50 Gary Glenn, No. 5 Chris Scribner and No. 16 Jamie Krizysik to get by thus putting Romero in the 6th position.

The third yellow waved involving drivers No. 51 Carlos Viera, No. 27 John Moore, No. 6 Kenny Smith, No. 88 Dylan Hutchison, and No. 21 Cameron Millard. Here Carlos Viera got spun in turn four which led to a group of cars with nowhere to go, all of which had minimal damage. Once the stacked field got the green, the first red flag came out on lap 48 due to No. 21 Cameron Millard and the KCRA Channel 3 News Reporter No. 20 Brian Hickey in a major collision in turn three which ended their night short leaving them watching the race from the pits. Shortly after the green flag was thrown on lap 54 an intense battle for the 4th position with the No. 5 Chris Scribner and the No. 16 Jamie Krizysik ensued. Passes being made on the outside caused Jamie to get loose in turn 4 caused the field behind him to check up, thus leading Jamie to battle back in the 10th position. Both the No. 27 car and the No. 22 car both suffered minimal damages from this incident. The track went green from lap 64 to the end of the 100 laps. As the No. 35 car Matt Scott cruised to a 1.437 second victory, the No. 44 Ron Chunn , No. 50 Gary Glenn and No. 11 Juan Pitta all battled for the second position in the closing laps. Drag racing to the line for fifth position was Chris Scribner and Shannon Mansch with Scribner edging out Shannon by .012 seconds.

All American Speedway's next Points race is scheduled on Saturday April 30, 2011 with Bombers, Street Stocks, Modifieds, and Late Models. More information about All American Speedway can be found at The Placer County Fairgrounds administration office is open for advance ticket sales Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm at 800 All America City Blvd. Roseville, CA. 95678, or contact the office at (916) 786-2025

#1 Points Race Results 1. 35 Matt Scott 2. 44 Ron Chunn 3. 50 Gary Glenn 4. 11 Juan Pitta 5. 5 Chris Scribner 6. 61 Shannon Mansch 7. 16 Jamie Krizysik 8. 42 Stanislov Osterlund 9. 72 Michelle Nagai 10. 55 Zane Lovelace 11. 6 Kenny Smith 12. 22 Brian Keck 13. 51 Carlos Viera 14. 88 Dylan Hutchison 15. 8 Jason Romero 16. 27 John Moore 17. 22 Troy Nagosek 18. 20 Brian Hickey 19. 21 Cameron Millard

The Bonus Challenge Special Awards were giving too:_$100 PRS 1st thru 5th Place Bonus for ARP body Panels: Matt Scott, Ron Chunn, Gary Glenn, Juan Pitta, Chris Scribner_$100 Trico Welding Bonus to the 16th Finisher: John Moore_$150 Trico Welding Bonus to the 12th Finisher: Brian Keck $200 Alan Yordy Motorsports Hard Luck bonus to driver who falls the most positions from start to finish: Jason Romero & John Moore Both fell 12 positions_$200 Pick-N-Pull 10th Place Finisher Bonus: Zane Lovelace_$200 Ron Sutton's Winner's Circle for driver leading the event at lap 50: Matt Scott_$200 Docuware Award for the 6th Place Finisher: Shannon Mansch $250 Les Schwab Lap Leader Award, Driver that Leads the Most Laps: Matt Scott $250 Pick-N-Pull 5th Place Finisher Bonus: Chris Scribner $250 PRS Hard Charge Bonus (Other than fast Qualifier if starts at rear) driver that advanced positions from start to finish: None_$500 Roseville Toyota, If race is won in a Toyota Camry: None_$1000 A-All Mini Storage Fast Qualifier Bonus if Fast Qualifier start Rear of the Field and wins: None

See also
Article posted by staff on April 19, 2011.