Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Portland Speedway
Source — Derrick Shannon
Date Posted — August 10, 2001
| More

Chris Quinn of Longview, Wash. finally found the winning combintion that brought him two championships as he held off Don Jenner and 4-time winner Eric Sayreto win his first NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Grand American Modified feature of the season.

Brad Tanner continued his torrid pace to the top of the point standings by collectinghis fourth win of the season in Street Stock action. Dan Cherington took home the victory inthe 20-lap Figure 8 feature race to extend his point lead over his brother Joe Cherington. NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Grand American Modifieds
Fast Time: Richard Whiteman/16.572
Trophy Dash: Dan Fox
Timber Wolf Hardcharger Award: Richard Whiteman
Discount Muffler Quickest & Quietest: Gary Morris
Heat Race #1: Ray Elwess, Mike Obrist, Ed Farness, Dan Obrist, Zoe Minsker, Sonny Modaff,
David Burkhardt
Heat Race #2: Eric Sayre, Sonny Sayre, Gary Lee Morris, Don Jenner, Donnie Martin, Scott Puncochar
Heat Race #3: Chris Quinn, Tom Pinkowsky, Dan Fox, Richard Whiteman, Gary Morris, Kenny Miller, Jesse Williamson

Main Event 35 Laps Pos. Driver Hometown

1. Chris Quinn Longview 2. Don Jenner Vancouver 3. Eric Sayre Vancouver 4. Gary Morris Boring 5. Richard Whiteman Tigard 6. Mike Obrist Portland 7. Tom Pinkowsky Vancouver 8. Sonny Sayre Vancouver 9. Ray Elwess Portland 10. Donnie Martin Portland 11. Dan Obrist Portland 12. Dan Fox Portland 13. Scott Puncochar Hillsboro 14. Ed Farness Portland 15. Gary Lee Morris Molalla 16. Zoe Minsker Clackamas 17. David Burkhardt Portland 18. Kenny Miller Vancouver 19. Jesse Williamson Portland 20. Sonny Modaff Portland NASCAR Street Stock Trophy Dash: Scott Puncochar
Heat Race #1: Willy Thom, Brian Puncochar, Jim Schram, Chris Schlat, Dennis Krohling
Heat Race #2: Curt Nusom, Grant Baker, Dave Cannon, Tracy Jones, Christopher Michael
Heat Race #3: Robert Jenner, Jeff Brookshire, Brad Tanner, Tim Patrick, Mike Crase
Heat Race #4: Scott Puncochar, Dan Harris, Herb Thomas, Bob Detrick, Pete Kelly "A" Main Event 30 Laps Pos. Driver Hometown 1. Brad Tanner Clackamas 2. Jeff Brookshire Portland 3. Dan Harris Portland 4. Dave Cannon Portland 5. Curt Nusom Portland 6. Dustin Wilkenson Milwaukie 7. Dennis Krohling Vancouver 8. Brian Puncochar Hillsboro 9. Tracy Jones Portland 10. Grant Baker Sandy 11. Jim Schram Vancouver 12. Robert Jenner Portland 13. Scott Puncochar Hillsboro 14. Tim Patrick Portland 15. Willy Thom Dundee 16. Herb Thomas St. Helens 17. Michael Ward Portland "B" Main Event 20 Laps Pos. Driver Hometown 1. Dustin Wilkenson Milwaukie 2. Dennis Krohling Vancouver 3. Mike Aubrey Portland 4. Mike Crase Portland 5. Pete Kelly Gresham 6. Kevin Martell Portland 7. Susan Nelson Portland 8. Dale Holland Portland 9. Robert Cutler Portland 10. Brian Overturf Portland 11. Christopher Michael Portland 12. Marv DeVore Portland "C" MAin Event 15 Laps Pos. Driver Hometown 1. Dale Holland Portland 2. Marv DeVore Portland 3. Bob Gaboury Portland 4. Frank Casey Vancouver 5. Jack Mantia Portland 6. Keith Clenenger Portland 7. Robert Duncan Portland

NASCAR Figure 8 Trophy Dash: Dan Cherington
Heat Race #1: Joe Cherington, Ray Perry, Dan Cherington, Kelly Nace
Heat Race #2: Ron Henderson, John Mayfield, John Schave, Ken Warford Main Event 20 Laps Pos. Driver Hometown 1. Dan Cherington Vancouver 2. Joe Cherington Vancouver 3. Kelly Nace Clackamas 4. Ron Henderson Vancouver 5. Ray Perry Portland 6. Eric Elsner Portland 7. John Schave Portland 8. John Mayfield Vancouver 9. Ken Warford Vancouver Outlaw Dwarf Cars Trophy Dash: Jack Burns
Heat Race #1: Jack Burns, Fred Hall, Todd Hardesty, Scott Carneau
Heat Race #2: Joe Eaton, Henry Corbin II, Doug Jorgensen, Ed Asaman
Heat Race #3: Chris Petersen, Jeff Quinn, Kevin Culver, Tyler Steenslid Main Event 20 Laps Pos. Driver Howmtown 1. Chris Petersen Portland 2. Jeff Quinn Vancouver 3. Kevin Culver Portland 4. Henry Corbin II Molalla 5. Todd Hardesty Scapoose 6. Joe Eaton St. Helens 7. Doug Jorgensen Oregon City 8. Jack Burns White Salmon, Wash. 9. Stan Meeks La Center 10. Mile Miller Milwaukie 11. Scott Carneau Milwaukie 12. Larry Jakobson Milwaukie 13. Jim Dunn Milwaukie 14. Tyler Steenslid Portland 15. Fred Hall Sammamish, Wash. 16. Ed Asaman Salem 17. Henry Corbin III Molalla 18. Randy Elsholz Portland 19. Carl Petersen Portland Bumpin' Bombers Trophy Dash: Joseph Bosso####

See also
Article posted by staff on August 10, 2001.