Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Cajon Speedway
Source — Robert Gardner
Date Posted — August 18, 2001
| More

EL CAJON, CA. Todd McLauchlan entered the night 14 points behind Ron Overman in the battle for the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series championship at Cajon Speedway. After the 40-lap feature, which McLauchlan won easily, he has taken over the number one spot in the season long hunt. McLauchlan outran Claude Bell to gain his third victory of the season. The triumph gives him a seven point bulge over his stepfather with four races remaining in the season. Overman finished fourth behind Mark Meech. John Manke was fifth. Rich Green improved his standing in the Exide Shortrack Series standings with his fourth street stock main event triumph of the season. Rookie driver Kenny Hall nipped veteran driver George Behlman to claim his first pony stock main event win. Bob Wickey romped to his second straight victory in the bomber stocks. Jim Smith led all 20-laps of the legend car feature. Green took the lead seven rounds into the feature 25-lapper for street stocks. The current point leader started eighth and started moving forward as soon as the green flag fell. By the time the checkered fell, he was a quarter lap in front of Jason Pontsler. Rich Hagen ran third ahead of Neil Rodvold and Richard Hinze. On a humid night when most teams had trouble getting hold of the track, McLauchlan's Monte Carlo was sticking extra well. His qualifying time of :16.315 was nearly a quarter of a second faster than his nearest rival. In the main event, the car worked both high and low. Mike Salm made his first start in the sportsman and led the field until McLauchlan elbowed his way past on the 13th circuit. McLauchlan got a run on Salm on the low side coming off turn two and then carried the leader high into turn three to take the lead. Salm quickly slipped to third and then to fifth. He had to pit while running fifth with just nine laps remaining when he lost his brakes. Salm was driving Ron Overman's backup Monte Carlo. The contest was only slowed once. That came on the ninth go-round when Mike Mendenhall lost his right front fender during a torrid seven-car tussle for third position. Mendenhall, who paced the points most of the season, failed to finish. He was black flagged twice for leaking fuel. CAJON SPEEDWAY NASCAR WEEKLY RACING SERIES RESULTS

LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN Fast Time - Todd McLauchlan, Alpine; Time - :16.315. 1st Heat (8 laps) - 1. John Manke, Ramona; 2. Mike Salm, Fallbrook; 3. Michael Peace, El Cajon; Time - 2:15.50. 2nd Heat (8 laps) - 1. Mark Meech, La Mesa; 2. Todd McLauchlan, Alpine; 3. Claude Bell, El Cajon; Time - 5:01.02. Main (40 laps) - 1. Todd McLauchlan, Alpine; 2. Claude Bell, El Cajon; 3. Mark Meech, La Mesa; 4. Ron Overman, Lakeside; 5. John Manke, Ramona; 6. Jerry Gay, San Diego; 7. Danny Gay, Lakeside; 8. Michael Peace, El Cajon; 9. Wayne Morse, Alpine; 10. Dee Cable, Santee; 11. David Arzola, San Diego; 12. Mike Salm, Fallbrook; 13. Mike Mendenhall, Santee; 14. Robert Parenteau, El Cajon; Time - 12:21.43.

STREET STOCK Fast Time - Rich Green Jr., El Cajon; Time - :17.835. Dash (4 laps) - 1. Johnny Johnson, Lakeside; 2. Rich Green Jr., El Cajon; 3. Rick Hagen, Alpine; 4. Scott Moses, Chula Vista; Time - 1:12.59. 1st Heat (8 laps) - 1. Jason Pontsler, Poway; 2. Todd Phelps, El Cajon; 3. Neil Rodvold, Lakeside; Time - 4:16.93. 2nd Heat (8 laps) - 1. Brian Collins, Oceanside; 2. Rich Green Jr., El Cajon; 3. Ivan Harrison, Santee; Time - 2:27.21. Main (25 laps) - 1. Rich Green Jr., El Cajon; 2. Jason Pontsler, Poway; 3. Rick Hagen, Alpine; 4. Neil Rodvold, Lakeside; 5. Richard Hinze, Lakeside; 6. Brian Collins, Oceanside; 7. George Behlman, Santee; 8. Rob Overman, El Cajon; 9. Randy Buell, San Diego; 10. Todd Phelps, El Cajon; 11. Rob Freeman, Santee; 12. RJ Stockman, Lakeside; 13. Scott Moses, Chula Vista; 14. Josh Green, San Diego; 15. Johnny Johnson, Lakeside; 16. Shawn McPheron, El Cajon; Time - 13:01.87.

PONY STOCK Fast Time - Ed Hale, El Cajon; Time - :18.440. 1st Heat (8 laps) - 1. Marty Schmidt, El Cajon; 2. Victor Clark, Lakeside; 3. Lou Tompkins, San Diego; Time - 5:28.40. 2nd Heat (8 laps) - 1. George Behlman, Santee; 2. Ken Wikoren, El Cajon; 3. Andy Papp, La Mesa; Time - 2:29.75. Semi (10 laps) - 1. Craig Pippin, Vista; 2. Robert Parenteau, El Cajon; 3. Jack Shirey, San Diego; Time - 3:39.90. Main (20 laps) - 1. Kenny Hall, Lakeside; 2. George Behlman, Santee; 3. Mike Weimann, Temecula; 4. Mark Shackleford, Riverside; 5. Ken Wikoren, El Cajon; 6. Douglas Wright Jr., Rancho SD; 7. Pete Franke, Lakeside; 8. John Swink, Lakeside; 9. Robert Parenteau, El Cajon; 10. Victor Clark, Lakeside; 11. Tim Beeney, Escondido; 12. Marty Schmidt, El Cajon; 13. Tim White, San Clemente; 14. Debi Urioste, Poway; 15. Craig Pippin, Vista; 16. Andy Papp, La Mesa; 17. Jack Shirey, San Diego; 18. Ed Hale, El Cajon; 19. Jessica Rodvold-Hall, El Cajon; 20. Lou Tompkins, San Diego; 21. Frank Stangler, El Cajon; 22. David Pardo, Encinitas; Time - 20:37.25.

BOMBER STOCK Fast Time - Mark Holland, San Diego; Time - :19.872. 1st Heat (8 laps) - 1. Rodney Shaw, El Cajon; 2. Kevin Gantz, Spring Valley; 3. Mark Wendell, Santee; Time - 2:46.37. 2nd Heat (8 laps) - 1. Charles Nevin, El Cajon; 2. Bob Wickey, Spring Valley; 3. Jeff Coskey, Santee; Time - 2:46.62. Main (20 laps) - 1. Bob Wickey, Spring Valley; 2. Charles Nevin, El Cajon; 3. Mark Holland, San Diego; 4. Bill Holland, El Cajon; 5. Kevin Gantz, Spring Valley; 6. Greg McCown, El Cajon; 7. Eric Seene, Santee; 8. Scott Denton, Fallbrook; 9. Ron Nava, Encinitas; 10. Mike McGlone, Fallbrook; 11. Thomas Osborne, San Diego; 12. Mike Johnson, Spring Valley; 13. Allen Basile, San Diego; 14. Marty Lehrke, San Diego; 15. Jeff Coskey, Santee; 16. Chris Boyer, San Diego; 17. Mark Wendell, Santee; 18. Joey Schneider, Escondido; 19. Rodney Shaw, El Cajon; Time - 19:02.00.

LEGEND Fast Time - Jim Smith, Orange; Time - :18.903. 1st Heat (8 laps) - 1. Cory Miles, Garden Grove; 2. Mark Gaiser, Anaheim; 3. Dana Moore, San Diego; Time - 7:19.71. 2nd Heat (8 laps) - 1. Gary Scheuerell, Temecula; 2. Jason Brennan, Stanton; 3. Jim Smith, Orange; Time - 2:33.50. Main (20 laps) - 1. Jim Smith, Orange; 2. Harold Grafton, Jamul; 3. Jason Brennan, Stanton; 4. Brent Jones, Upland; 5. Gary Scheuerell, Temecula; 6. Gene Brokaw, San Diego; 7. James Kalawain, Garden Grove; 8. Art Nevill, Acton; 9. Bill Everett, Fontana; 10. Dana Moore, San Diego; 11. Cory Miles, Garden Grove; 12. Mark Gaiser, Anaheim; 13. Tom Skahill, Duarte; 14. Jeff Collins, San Diego; 15. Marty Swinehart, San Diego; 16. Ralph Alexander, Victorville; 17. Pamela Everett, Fontana; 18. Dennis O'Connor, Carlsbad; 19. Kevin Leffler, Escondido; 20. Ken Davis, San Dimas; Time - no time.

TRAIN RACE - Dan Hildebrand and Erik Decker, Lakeside ATTENDANCE - 3273


See also
Article posted by staff on August 18, 2001.