Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


South Sound Speedway
Source — Kristy Palmer
Date Posted — August 25, 2001
| More

South Sound Speedway was packed to the brim with spectators as Lucky Eagle Casino/Fuller’s Market Night got underway. The Mini-Cup Nationals brought drivers from all over California, Oregon and Washington to run on the high-banked oval. The Top Notch Trailer Street Stocks had some drivers return after being gone for much of the year. Finally, the Miller American 200 brought 20 Late Model Super Stock drivers. Many of who were former champions from around the Northwest including Bob Presley, Wes Rhodes, and Monte English.

Late Model Super Stock qualifying went off without a hitch. Ron Eaton qualified fastest and drew and invert of eight for the main. Mike Olson was the winner of the fast dash while Curby Kirkendall won the middle dash. A rolling start was called for the main event with Eric Tibbitts and Bob Presley on the front row. Presley pulled to the lead and stayed there for the first twelve laps before being overtaken by Tom Sweatman. When Sweatman took over the lead, he never looked back. Ten cautions plagued the race and the field ran 62 laps under caution. On lap four, a five-car pile-up caused Curtis Zelmer to be out for the remainder of the night and made Monte English, Mitch Franklin and Paul Field Jr., all go down one lap to the leader. Another caution involved Jim Clair and Ron Wolf. Wolf was unable to make it back out due to mechanical problems furthering his bad luck at South Sound. Clair returned three laps later. At lap 98, a caution was thrown for midway pit stops. Cars were allowed to go in to the pits for ten minutes to change tires, get more gas and do any other necessary adjustments to their cars. The remainder of the night went relatively fast and as the checkered flag flew, it was Tom Sweatman with the victory. Second was Wes Rhodes, followed by English, Alan Spivey and Curby Kirkendall in fifth. The rest of the top ten was Tommy Jose Jr., Ron Eaton, Bucky Johnston, Jeff Walcker and Marc Beebe.

The Top Notch Trailer Street Stocks welcomed back Shannon Robinson, KC Valentine and George Guiberson who all took some time off from the 3/8th mile oval action. Guiberson’s welcome was celebrated by him winning the B-heat race and the trophy dash. JJ Hamilton was fastest qualifier but still 11/100 of a second off Scott Zahn’s track record. David Knittle won the A-heat. Nick Behn was the big winner of the night with JJ Hamilton in tow. The only other car on the lead lap was Zahn who finished third. Fourth went to Knittle with Valentine in fifth. Joe Swanson was sixth with Guiberson, David Patrick, Shannon Robinson and Dave McCaslin crossing the line for the top ten.

The MMRA Super Mini-Cup Nationals was very exciting. Friday marked the first day of action with qualifying and heat races. Rachel Mathews and Patrick Phillips each won a heat. On Saturday, Chris Davis was the winner of the trophy dash. Brent McGrath was first in the main with Mike Foster and Kevin Harris behind. The Future Stars proved to be fun to watch with Jared Eaton of Modesto, California sweeping the class. Second in the main went to JJ Hickle with Adam Atkins, Cody Stewart, Cougar Stewart, and Kyle Lund behind. The kids all received giant trophies that nearly towered over them and all had a great time.

Coming next weekend to South Sound Speedway is the Labor Day Weekend show. Saturday will feature the Top Notch Trailer Street Stocks, the Northwest Legends and Bandoleros and Spectator Drags. Sunday the Top Notch Trailer Street Stocks will be back along with the Hinkle Homes Pure Stocks, Figure-8 and Spectator Drags. Check out for all results, ticket prices and information.

RACE RESULTS 8-25-2001


Late Model Super Stock

Fast Time: Ron Eaton 14.496

Dash A: Mike Olson

Dash B: Curby Kirkendall


1. Tom Sweatman, Cosmopolis 11. Randy Dalebout, Tumwater

2. Wes Rhodes, Olympia 12. Bob Presley, Olympia

3. Monte English, Port Angeles 13. Jim Clair, Portland

4. Alan Spivey, Rainier 14. Mike Olson, Puyallup

5. Curby Kirkendall, Centrailia 15. Eric Tibbitts, Graham

6. Tommy Jose, Jr., Roseburg, OR 16. Roger Drake, Renton

7. Ron Eaton, Lakewood 17. Paul Field, Jr., Bremerton

8. Bucky Johnston, Poulsbo 18. Ron Wolf, Auburn

9. Jeff Walcker, Olympia 19. Mitch Franklin, Puyallup

10.Marc Beebe, Port Angeles 20. Curt Zelmer, Portland

Top Notch Trailers Street Stocks

Fast Time: JJ Hamilton 16.19

Dash: George Guiberson

Heat A: David Knittle

Heat B: George Guiberson


1. Nick Behn, Rochester 8. David Patrick, Portland

2. JJ Hamilton, Centralia 9. Shannon Robinson, Olympia

3. Scott Zahn, Rochester 10. Dave McCaslin, Olympia

4. David Knittle, Lacey 11. Jim Jussila, Centralia

5. KC Valentine, Portland 12. Mike Saylors, Olympia

6. Joe Swanson, Gresham 13. John Owenby, Jr., Tenino

7. George Guiberson, Tumwater 14. Brad Happ, Bremerton

MMRA Mini-Cups

Fast Time: Patrick Phillips 17.046

Dash: Chris Davis

Heat A: Patrick Phillips

Heat B: Rachel Mathews


1. Brent McGrath, Eagle Point, OR 8. David Vandepol, Auburn

2. Mike Foster, Rochester 9. Justin Mills, Salem, OR

3. Kevin Harris, Olympia 10. Kevin Kinnear, Burien

4. Chris Bell, Tukwilla 11. Rachel Mathews, Orting

5. Tom Phillips, Langley, BC 12. Mike Allen, Auburn

6. Richard”Pink” Smith, Eagle Point 13. Chris Davis, Rochester

7. Britt Salmon, Eagle Point, OR 14. Patrick Phillips, Langley, BC

MMRA Future Stars

Fast Time: Jared Eaton 17.786

Dash: Jared Eaton

Heat: Jared Eaton


1. Jared Eaton, Modesto, CA 2. Cody Stewart, Edgewood 3. Kyle Lund, Redmond 4. Adam Atkins, Richland 5. J.J. Hickle, Quilcene 6. Cougar Stewart, Portland


See also
Article posted by staff on August 25, 2001.