Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register

ASA Racing Weekend Results for October 7-9, 2011

American Speed Association
Source — American Speed Association PR/kr
Date Posted — October 11, 2011
| More
ASA Racing Weekend Results for October 7-9, 2011

DAYTONA BEACH, Florida — It was another great weekend for ASA Racing. The ASA Truck Series had a first time winner, The ASA Midwest Tour and ASA Midwest Truck Tour were in action at Oktoberfest, and many ASA Member Tracks were in action.

Here are the results from this past weekend.



La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway (West Salem, WI)

Johnny Sauter held off his nephew Travis to win the 42nd Annual Oktoberfest 100 feature on Sunday afternoon. Chris Weinkauf was third. Andrew Morrissey captured the 2011 ASA Midwest Tour championship.

Dan Fredrickson was a last minute replacement and drove the Lefthander Chassis Chevrolet to victory in the 30-lap feature on Sunday afternoon. John Wood was second with Brad Becker in third. ASA Midwest Tour officials are currently verifying the final point standings and will announce a champion when the audit has concluded.


Havasu 95 Speedway (Lake Havasu City, AZ)

Branden Underwood held off Mike Herda to pick up his first ASA Truck Series victory this past Saturday night. Jeff Catlin was third with Kyle Weatherman in fourth. Jim Putnam rounded out the top-five. Catlin now has a six-point lead over Taylor Miinch with one event remaining on 10/29.


ACE SPEEDWAY (Altamahaw, NC)

Austin Leitner took home a $3,000 paycheck this past Saturday as he won the 100-lap SouthEast Limited Late Models race. Melvin Langley won the SouthEast Limited Late Models Challenger race. Jarrett Andretti, son of John Andretti, won both of the Ford Focus 25-lap feature events. Brandon Sharpe won the X-Treme cars feature. Ace Speedway announcer put down the microphone and grabbed a steering wheel to finish eighth in his driving debut in the X-Tremes.


The final event of the 2011 season didn’t happen due to four inches of snow.


The 2nd Annual Speedfest closed out the 2011 season this past weekend. Charley Powell won in the Front Runners. Nathan Sturtz won in the Bombers. John Witzsche was the big winner in the Super Streets. Anthony Monroe took the checkers in the Sport Mods. Butch Havelka won in the Dwarf Cars. Alan Sampson captured the win in the Lone Star Legacys and Lalo Leal won in the Texas Pro Sedans.

Congratulations to the 2011 track champions: Josh McCain – Front Runners, Megan LeSturgeon – Bombers, John Witzsche – Super Streets, Anthony Monroe – Sport Mods, and Lisa Sandoval – Texas Pro Sedans.


The racing action scheduled for this past Saturday night was rained out.


Dillon will be in action on October 28-30 with the Fall Spectacular.


They hoped they could get it in, but Mother Nature said no and sadly the racing action from Saturday night was rained out.

HAVASU 95 SPEEDWAY (Lake Havasu City, AZ)

Racin Rick Bezanson held off Ricky Maddox Jr. to win the ASA Street Stock feature this past Saturday night. Nathan Hovdal won in the Factory Stocks. Chris Weiss drove the Team Shake and Bake car to the feature win in the Team Factory Stocks over Breanna Nelson who drove for The Intimidators. Ricky Lewis won in the Bandoleros and Dustin Ash won in the Legends.


Wayne Webb was the overall winner in the first ever Davey Crockett Championship race this past Saturday night. The 200-lap race was broken down in to four segments. Wade Day won the first, third and fourth segments while Webb won the second. But Webb was the overall winner with his second, first, fourth, and fifth place runs. Jamie Sutton won in the Street Stocks. Greg Stephens was the big winner in the Front Wheel Drives. Stevie Frazier grabbed the win in the Mod 4’s. Tyler Goodwin won in the Legends and Scott Crusenberry won in the Mini Cups.

To learn more about the ASA Member Tracks and Sanctioned Series in your area, please visit Follow us on Facebook at or Twitter at @amerspeedassoc.

You can also download the ASA Racing App for your iPhone and Android smartphone. Just search for “ASA Racing” in iTunes and the Android Market.

The American Speed Association started as a single racing series in 1968 and is a fast growing racing sanctioning body today. The ASA Member Track program sanctions dirt and asphalt short tracks along with road courses around the United States, as well as a variety of regional and national touring series. For more information call (386) 258-2221, or send an email to The latest news and information from all the racetracks and tours involved in the ASA can be found by visiting

See also
Article posted by staff on October 11, 2011.

Like RacingWest on FaceBook for the latest racing news from your local track and for our infamous Near Lives! Hans Device at Lucas Oil Products - NASCAR Merchandise Ron's Rear Ends