Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register

Veteran Drivers Score Popular Wins at Deming Speedway

Deming Speedway
Source — Deming Speedway Public Relations
Date Posted — April 20, 2012
| More

EVERSON, Washington — A pair of veteran drivers scored popular victories at Deming Speedway on Friday night on A-1 Welding / Pace Chassis night. Aaron Fell set a new track record and won the A Main in the 1200 division while Spud Allen led all 25 laps of the Speedmart / Hoosier main to end a four year winless drought. Other winners included Ashley Thompson in the 600r division and Jesse Schlotfeldt in the Kasey Kahne Jr Sprints.

With a blistering fast race surface to work with, Aaron Fell dialed his car in to the perfect combination en route to winning his first feature of 2012 in the 1200 division. After lowering the track record to 10.034, Fell found his way past Jared Gunderson on lap 16 and then streaked away from the field to win the main, running laps close to his time trial lap during the main itself. Liam Ryan took second and Steven Hendrickson was third. Heat wins went to Duane Mackey, Brock Lemley and Brad Davison.

After a four year winless drought, Spud Allen conquered his mechanical demons and won the main event in the Hoosier / Speedmart 600 division. Allen led all twenty five laps of the main, fending off challenges from Dustin O’Brien and Brock Lemley who finished second and third respectively. Derek Torkelson was fast time. Kelly Mauck, Lemley, Hayden Schmidt and Brandon Turner won the heats. Alden Ostrom won the B Feature.

Ashley Thompson had things break her way en route to winning her first career feature at Deming Speedway in the 600 restricted class. While running third, Thompson caught the break she needed when race leader Kyle Mitchell tangled with second place running Jake Helsel on lap 20, drawing a caution flag and sending both to the rear of the field. After inheriting the lead, Thompson held off a strong challenge from runner up Austin Sheridan to claim her first victory. Tristan Thomas followed Sheridan for third. Sheridan set quick time. Heat wins went to Dylan Resch, Rachel Westmoreland and Thompson.

Jesse Schlotfeldt continued his race win streak by clean sweeping the night in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints. After setting quick time and winning his heat, Schlotfeldt took advantage of a mid race restart to pass Ashton Dial and take the lead / win, his third in a row. Dial came home second while Sawyer Sorgenfrei raced his way to third. Brett Mitchell made his Deming Speedway debut by winning the second heat race.

Deming Speedway Race Results -- 04/14/2012
Speedmart Hoosier 600
Fast Time – Derek Torkelson 10.252
Heat 1 – Kelly Mauck
Heat 2 – Brock Lemley
Heat 3 – Hayden Schmidt
Heat 4 – Brandon Turner
B Main – Alden Ostrom, Jerrod Saddler, Jared Peterson, Kevin Wilkinson, Tom Hovind, Bill Mercer, Dougie James, Jacob Brown, Chase Schmidt, Tayler Dougherty
A Main – Spud Allen, Dustin O’Brien, Brock Lemley, Derek Torkleson, Phil Schemenauer, Brandon Turner, Liam Ryan, Brayden Planko, Austin Sheridan, Jared Peterson, Alex Gauthier, Nate Vaughn, Jerrod Saddler, Alden Ostrom, Greg Hamilton, Kelly Mauck, Kevin Wilkinson, Hayden Schmidt, Kenny Rutz, Cory Samuelson
Lap Leaders – Allen 1-25
Fast Time – Aaron Fell 10.034 NTR
Heat 1 – Duane Mackey
Heat 2 – Brock Lemley
Heat 3 – Brad Davison
Main – Aaron Fell, Liam Ryan, Steven Hendrickson, Jared Gunderson, Brock Lemley, Tyson Cross, Wade Spreckelmeyer, Forest Metcalfe, Brad Davison, Spud Allen, Clennon Holloway, Tony Helsel, Kyle Kenoyer, Eric Drake, DJ Kosa, Duane Mackey
Lap Leaders – Gunderson 1-15 Fell 16-25
600 Restricted
Fast Time – Austin Sheridan 11.080
Heat 1 – Dylan Resch
Heat 2 – Rachel Westmoreland
Heat 3 – Ashley Thompson
Main – Ashley Thompson, Austin Sheridan, Tristan Thomas, Brandee Wood, Chance Crum, Dylan Resch, Darius Walker-Perkins, Kyle Mitchell, Jake Helsel, Isaac Abenroth, Kaitlyn Hammer, Ian Humphries, Ashleigh Johnson, JJ Thomas, Riley Watkins, Rachel Westmoreland, Spencer Constance, Tatum Pospical
Lap Leaders – Helsel 1-11 Mitchell 12-20 Thompson 21-25
Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints
Fast Time – Jesse Schlotfeldt 13.094
Heat 1 – Jesse Schlotfeldt
Heat 2 – Brett Mitchell
Main – Jesse Schlotfeldt, Ashton Dial, Sawyer Sorgenfrei, Haley Constance, Peyton Hagen, Lynden Lebedinski, Tyson Lemley, Brent Mitchell, Tyler McLeod
Lap Leaders – Constance 1 Dial 2-7 Schlotfeldt 8-18
See also
Article posted by staff on April 20, 2012.