Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register

King of the West 410 Sprint Car Series Notes & Pertinent Info

King of the West 410 Sprint Car Series
Date Posted — April 09, 2013
| More
King of the West 410 Sprint Car Series Notes & Pertinent Info

ANTIOCH, California — p>


"Season opener at Antioch Speedway "

The King of the West 410 Sprint Car Series will officially kick off the 2013 racing season at John Soares’ always action packed Antioch Speedway on Saturday April 20. The upcoming campaign will mark the third year under the KWS banner and includes 28 races at 12 different tracks in California and Nevada.

The schedule this season is the largest in a number of years for the series, as it comes off a strong 2012 campaign that saw the largest cash point fund in the history of West Coast 410 Sprint Car Racing handed out. The top-14 "Members in Good Standing" took part in a $121,500 cash point fund and car owner champion Roth Motorsports walked away with $20,000.

The Saturday April 20 opener in Antioch will be the first of two season appearances at the Contra Costa County Fairgrounds facility, with the other occurring on Saturday July 20. A fully loaded roster of 410 Sprint Cars will hit the exciting one-third mile clay oval to finally kick off the much anticipated campaign.

Reigning KWS champion Jonathan Allard will look to jump start his title defense at the Antioch Speedway opener on April 20. He will however, face strong challenges from a number of other competitors, including KWS track record holder Kyle Hirst, who won at Antioch last June and takes over the seat of the Roth Enterprises 83jr full time in 2013.

Recent World of Outlaws winner at Antioch Speedway, Shane Golobic of Fremont will bring his Von Schriltz Racing No. 121 machine back to the track looking for another victory. Golobic picked up the biggest win of his career this past Friday in Antioch when he bested a stout field of WOO STP Sprint Cars to claim a non-stop feature.

Sacramento’s Willie Croft will be at the helm of the famed Clyde Lamar owned Tri-C Machine No. 3c sprinter, as he guns for his first King of the West Series championship. Other drivers looking to make a splash at the season opener will include Evan Suggs, Brent Kaeding, Peter Murphy, Rico Abreu, Bobby McMahan, Jason Statler, Craig Stidham, Cory Eliason, Chad Compton, Kenny Allen and many more.


On Saturday April 20 the front grandstand gate of the Antioch Speedway will open at 5pm. Hot laps are scheduled for 6pm, with qualifying at 6:30pm and racing anticipated to start around 7pm. An early arrival is suggested as the Antioch Speedway routinely has a packed house of fans in attendance.


The Antioch Speedway is located on the Contra Costa County Fairgrounds at the corner of 10th and L Streets in Antioch, California. Take SR-4 East (Highway 4) to the Somersville Road North Exit. Follow Somersville Road to 10thStreet. Turn Right on 10th Street. The address for the track is 1201 W. 10th Street Antioch, CA 94509.


Tickets will be available the day of the race with adults being just $20, children 6-12 $10, seniors 65 & older $10 and children 5 & under free. A family pack with two adults & two children will also be available for $50.

On the Internet:

King of the West Sprint Car Series-

Official Website-



You Tube-

Instagram- kwssprints

Antioch Speedway-

Official Website-


About the track:

The Antioch Speedway was lengthened and re-configured prior to the 2009 season and is now a one-third mile semi-banked clay oval. This past June saw the KWS 410 track record fall when Sacramento’s Kyle Hirst blistered the speedway in 11.705 seconds aboard the Roth Motorsports No. 83jr sprinter.

Past winners of Golden State/King of the West events at Antioch Speedway since 410 racing returned to the facility in 2003:

2012- Tim Kaeding in April, Kyle Hirst in June & Craig Stidham in July

2011- Jonathan Allard in April and Tim Kaeding in July

2010- Jonathan Allard in April and Kyle Larson in July

2009- Tyler Walker in April and Brent Kaeding in July

2008- Tyler Walker in April and Tim Kaeding in July

2007- Brent Kaeding in April and Tim Kaeding in July

2006- Dennis Moore Jr. in July

2005- Lawrence Edlund in April and Robert Ballou in July

2004- Brent Kaeding in April and Brent Kaeding in July

2003- Jason Statler in July

Last season with the King of the West 410 Sprint Car Series:

Chico’s Jonathan Allard claimed four victories en route to his third career King of the West Sprint Car Series title last year. The three-time Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup champion picked up a pair of wins at his home track of Silver Dollar Speedway along the way, including the fifth Dave Bradway Jr. Memorial triumph of his career.

San Jose wheel man Tim Kaeding and Sacramento driver Kyle Hirst combined forces to bring home the owner championship for Roth Motorsports at seasons’ end. It marked the second consecutive owner title for the Fresno based team that is owned by Dennis & Teresa Roth.

The top-five in the final driver standings for 2012 was rounded out by Scotts Valley’s Evan Suggs, who finished runner up for the second straight year, 13-time champion & Hall of Famer Brent Kaeding of Campbell, fan favorite Peter Murphy from Clovis and 1996 NARC Speedweek titlist Bobby McMahan of Elk Grove.

Main event winners in 2012 (number of wins in parentheses):

Tim Kaeding (6), Jonathan Allard (4), Rico Abreu (2), Kyle Hirst (1), Brent Kaeding (1), Kyle Larson (1), Craig Stidham (1), Bud Kaeding (1)

Final top-10 in driver standings for 2012:

1. Jonathan Allard; 2. Evan Suggs; 3. Brent Kaeding; 4. Peter Murphy; 5. Bobby McMahan; 6. Jason Statler; 7. Willie Croft; 8. Andy Gregg; 9. Craig Stidham; 10. Tim Kaeding

See also
Article posted by staff on April 09, 2013.