Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register

Richardson Sweeps Twin 35s During Kget Night at Kern Raceway

Kern Raceway
Date Posted — July 28, 2013
| More

BAKERSFIELD, California — Eric Richardson made a bold statement by sweeping both NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Twin 35s during KGET TV Night at Kern County Raceway Park on Saturday night. Richardson steered his Rick Pak #44 Chevrolet to wins ahead of points leader David Mayhew in both events and added the trophy dash win as well.

"You just don't get nights like this," Richardson said. "I can count how many times I've had a car like that. After loosing to Mayhew this year, all these guys on my team dug down and we got better!"

Other winners on the night included Racin Vernon in his first career Mini Stock win, Joel Courage in his NASCAR Spec Mod debut, and Mini Dwarf wins for Kyleigh Forester and Jerry Flippo.

Mayhew led the opening four laps of the first 35 lap event from the outside pole ahead of the 15 car field. Richardson moved past Brian Richardson in lapped traffic and turned his sights on the race leader.

The caution flag came out for Mike Lansing spinning in turn four on lap 11, and that allowed the battle for the lead. Brian Richardson was shuffled back to fifth on the restart.

Richardson dove inside Mayhew on lap 12 and they went side-by-side for the next three laps. Finally on lap 15 Richardson edged forward by a nose and took off with the lead.

Mayhew attempted to close down in lapped traffic several more times but was unable to take the lead. Richardson led Mayhew, Johnny White, Gary Elmore, and Brian Richardson to round out the top-five.

Eric Richardson started on the pole for the second feature and the caution came out in turn four for White spinning. On the complete restart, White made daring moves from the rear to pass eight cars in a single lap.

Richardson paced Mayhew and Brian Richardson nose-to-tail for the rest of the feature while White tried to close down on Elmore. Elmore slowed with mechanical failure on lap 31 to end an otherwise promising run. Richardson took a one second win over Mayhew, Brian Richardson, White, and Kyle Heckman in his debut.

In the 30 lap NASCAR Mini Stock event, Racin Vernon started tenth with a backup engine and stormed through the pack to run with the leaders by lap nine. Points leader Billy Lay paced a close pack of Vernon and new track record holder Dylan Baker throughout the race.

Vernon used the outside groove to take the lead position while Lay and Baker dueled for second. Vernon took a 3.4 second win in his first career Mini Stock win, topping Baker, Lay, Justin Fine, and rookie Chris Joslin.

The 25 lap NASCAR Spec Modified race was a war of attrition with the top two in points Chris Dalton and Bailey Thompson both falling the way side with mechanical problems. For Dalton, the problems struck while challenging for the race lead near the halfway point.

Modesto's Joel Courage, Jr., a regular at Stockton 99 Speedway, took advantage to win the seven car event by .791 seconds over Eric Brust. Bakersfield's Justin Tuey crashed hard in turn one on lap 19 but by attrition still was scored third in the end.

Both Mini Dwarf races went caution free on the one-eighth mile speedway, with the most striking win being seven year old Kyleigh Forester in the Jr. Mini Dwarf. Forester lapped all but second place Kabe McClenny in a great performance for her third straight win, with Troy Morris III finishing third.

The Sr. Mini Dwarf race was more of a shootout, as Jeremy Clark led the first six laps with three wide racing up front. Points leader Jerry Flippo went wide down the backstretch for a huge head of steam to the lead on lap nine from Anthony Balcazar. Flippo never looked back in scoring his fourth consecutive win in the division, while Balcazar went three-wide across the line with Andrew Orlando and Jeremy Clark for second.

KCRP will stage two days of racing next weekend, with Saturday night's LKQ Auto Parts Night and Sunday evening's matinee Legends and Bandolero National Qualifier races.

Kern County Raceway Park is online at More information is available on Facebook at and on Twitter at

Race Results -- 07/27/2013
Late Model Twin One
1 44 Eric Richardson
35 16:37.112 19.009 8
2 17 David Mayhew
35 16:37.524 00.412 18.918 4
3 7 Johnny White
35 16:37.741 00.629 19.024 7
4 88 Gary Elmore
35 16:38.586 01.474 18.968 13
5 4 Brian Richardson
35 16:39.256 02.144 19.004 5
6 28 Trevor Schlundt
35 16:52.500 15.388 19.465 14
7 32 Kyle Heckman
35 16:52.694 15.582 19.516 4
8 13 Josh Horn
35 16:53.164 16.052 19.707 15
9 42 Stanislav Osterlund
35 16:54.450 17.338 19.751 15
10 07 Troy Morris, Jr.
34 16:49.213 1 Lap 20.124 22
11 14 Mike Lansing
34 16:51.993 1 Lap 20.028 8
12 1 Paul Ebersbacher
33 16:46.168 2 Laps 20.456 5
13 71 Gene Fife
28 15:18.664 7 Laps 20.314 13
14 91 Dallas Montes
10 03:27.241 25 Laps 19.815 8
15 15 Lance Wilson
15:45.332 35 Laps 00.000
Late Model Twin Two
1 44 Eric Richardson
2 17 David Mayhew
3 4 Brian Richardson
4 7 Johnny White
5 32 Kyle Heckman
6 28 Trevor Schlundt
7 13 Josh Horn
8 42 Stanislav Osterlund
9 07 Troy Morris, Jr.
10 14 Mike Lansing
11 1 Paul Ebersbacher
12 88 Gary Elmore
13 15 Lance Wilson
14 71 Gene Fife
See also
Article posted by staff on July 28, 2013.