Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — Butler/Evergreen Speedway
Date Posted — August 11, 2002
| More

MONROE, Washington -- Monroe’s Tom Moriarity made it two wins in a row Saturday Night at Evergreen Speedway on Randy’s Ring & Pinion Night in the NASCAR Super Stock Division and in the process picked up more points on current points leader John Zaretzke who finished second for the second week in a row. Moriarity started the night off by setting fast time and then spun an eight on the Speedway Chevrolet’s invert wheel.

Tom Matthew’s and Joe Decker, Jr led the twelve car field down for the Troy Draper green flag with Matthew’s jumping out to an early lead. The yellow flew on lap 2 as Marv Christopherson lost power. The track went green on lap 7 with Matthew’s still leading. Joe Decker, Jr made an outside move on lap 8 to take the lead. The second yellow came on lap 11 as Brice Christensen hit a tire in turn one damaging his left front suspension. Decker continued to led as Zaretzke moved into third place on lap 16. The yellow was displayed again after contact between Zaretzke and Doug Davidson, with Zaretzke getting the black flag and put to the back of the pack. Decker led until lap 28 when Moriarity made the winning move. Zaretzke moved into fourth on lap 30 after passing Matt Murphy and 2 laps later passed Sarto for third as Moriarity stretched his lead. Zaretzke moved into second on lap 37 when Decker slipped in turn 1, but he didn’t have anything for Moriarity over the next 13 laps. Decker ended up third followed by Sarto and Murphy.

In the 30 lap NASCR Randy’s Ring & Pinion Bombers Monte Boyd won his first ever A-Main event. Jim Risher and Charlie Clark led the 20 car field for the green. All hell broke loose on lap 6 as Risher, Bill O’Brien and Clark all tangled on the front stretch. When the smoke cleared Boyd who started 9th was leading the race as O’Brien and Risher’s night ended. Boyd led the remaining 20 laps as points leader Dave Lund ran out of time trying to catch as the last 20 laps were all green flag laps. Bill Eddy finished third follwed by Dirk Kruiswyk and Billy Coates. Coates had a excellent run after starting in the back after transferring from the B-Main. Coates had a great battle with Brad Sweeney over the last four laps while fighting for fifth. Mike Ebeling won the B-Main.

Chuck Grant won the 30 lap NASCAR Mini Stocks after starting on the pole and leading all 30 laps. Chuck Richards came from12th position to finish second, third place went to James Duvall, Jr after starting way back in 20th place. Nat Barber finished fourth coupled with points leader Bobby DeYoung DNF moved into the points lead over Scott LaCross and DeYoung. LaCross finished 5th while DeYoung was credited with 16th.

Doug Delfel won another FEAR Super Figure 8 feature after Mike Buse spun leader Steve Peters out. Peters subbing for Malcolm Lindberg gained the lead from Buse one lap 22 after slight contact with Buse spinning. Peters came up on Buse to lap him on lap 28 and after he passed him Buse retaliated by spinning Peters out handing the win to Delfel who was 10 car length behind. Don Eslick finished second followed by John Carlson, Jerry Funding and Peters.

Peters driving his own FEAR Extreme Figure 8 car won the 25 lap feature over Perry Huffman, Jay VanBusKirk, Freddy Kapp, and Steve Woehl


See also
Article posted by staff on August 11, 2002.