Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — RacingWest Staff
Date Posted — August 18, 2002
| More

Erie, (Colo.) -- In a surprise turn of events Colorado local driver, Jerry Robertson took the point on lap 35 of the United Power/Touchstone Energy 150 and led the remaining 115 laps to win his first NASCAR SW Tour race in front of his hometown crowd.

The night began with Burney Lamar seizing his 4th Bud Pole award of the 2002 season with a time of 15.736 at 85.791, quick enough to put Lamar in the record books with a new track record, but before the night was through the talented youngster would endure one of his worst finishes of the season finishing 25th.

The race began with a straight up start and Lamar led the first 15 laps before Jim Pettit II took over on lap 16, focused on the task at hand, Robertson grabbed the point on lap 35 and no car, no driver, no spotter and no caution would be strong enough to stay his charge to the victory.

David Gilliland and points leader Eddy McKean although finishing second and third, never were able to get the advantage they needed to lead a lap. The podium finish for McKean extended his point lead and he now enjoys a 120-point cushion between him and new 2nd place in the standings, M K Kanke. Lamar who put 22 laps in the book before being listed as the 2nd car out slid to 3rd in the standings.

Several locals mixed up the field sending both series regulars and local competitiors back to loading their cars in the haulers.

Two races remain on the schedule for the Southwest Tour; Mesa Marinís October Classic and the grand finale at Phoenix International Raceway.

The Southwest Tour is unique in that it is promoted by the fans, tracks and teams that support the series, while NASCAR sanctions it, making sure that the stringent rules of the series are adhered to, allowing fair competition to all. The Series is one of NASCARís top-of-the line divisions and brings drivers from various series to compete, including drivers involved in NASCAR Winston Cup racing.####

See also
Article posted by staff on August 18, 2002.