Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — Lynn Baird
Date Posted — August 19, 2002
| More

TWIN FALLS, Idaho -- Sara Roach held off a hard charging Karen York by a couple of inches to win the final Middlekauff Queen Bee race of the 2002 season and moved to the top of the season standings.

The Randy Hansen Race Trucks returned to the Speedway with their brand of truck racing and the near capacity crowd was treated to some excellent truck racing action. Jason Newhouse came from his fifth starting position to win the heat race trailed by Melvin Radmall and Ken Vanderham. Vanderham got a great start in the main event passing both Jason Hatfield and Dan Pehrson on the first lap and then set the pace until lap eight. Jason Newhouse then made the pass and cruised to the victory. Vanderham, John Wong, Radmall and Hatfield trailed him at the finish.

The Budweiser Grand Nationals ran two thirty lap main events on this evening and the first main was a dandy with Dan Doan coming from his tenth starting spot to take the lead on lap 12. It was exciting all the way as Dan held off point leader Dale Miles at the checkered flag. Ray Van Holland, Curt Kaneaster and Bob Nation rounded out the top five. As the old saying goes, “you ain’t seen nothing yet” most certainly described the second thirty-lap feature finish. Norm Hatke charged from his tenth starting position to take the lead on lap nineteen but Dan Doan wanted this main event win also and at the completion of lap thirty passed Hatke at the finish line. The cars tangled just past the line and both cars ended up in the wall. Both drivers were able to walk away from their damaged racecars. Bob Nation was third trailed by Kaneaster and Van Holland.

The Dairy Queen Thunder Stock main went to Sam Harris followed by Justino Macedo, Jim Shirley, John Urie and Mike Buddenhagen. Urie won the A heat and Danny Oliver the B heat. John Urie’s season point lead over Jim Shirley is just eighteen.

The evening was capped off with the Twin Stop “Trailer Race of Destruction”. Everyone ends up a winner in this one because all the participants and fans have a great time.####

See also
Article posted by staff on August 19, 2002.