Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — ASA Media Relations
Date Posted — August 25, 2002
| More

Millington, TN (August 25, 2002) – Joey Clanton of Georgia continued his storybook season in the ASA Racing Series as he completed a remarkable comeback, passing Kevin Cywinski on lap 199, to capture the Jani-King 200 presented by Flash Market at Memphis M otorsports Park. It was Clanton’s 9th win this season and a second victory since 2000 at the .75-mile oval track.

Cywinski had secured the lead following a dramatic collision between race leaders Butch Miller and Travis Kittleson on lap 130. The Wausau (WI) veteran, after starting fifth, controlled the race although by then Joey Clanton had begun his climb back into t he hunt.

Clanton, the pole-sitter, dominated the first half of the event, leading through lap 107. After the Camp Fire USA team decided to make their first pit stop a four-tire change, Clanton came out in the sixth position with Butch Miller taking over race leader ship.

Ironically, Clanton’s car was damaged during the Miller/Kittleson incident. “We had some cut tires because of the wreck so we had to come in,” said Clanton. “Luckily it didn’t really damage the car, so once we made the change it was all systems go.”

The caution came out at lap 198 and the ASA rule is to hold the lap count at any yellow flag condition inside of the final five laps.

Kevin Cywinski was unable to hold off Joey Clanton with the series point’s leader passing Cywinski’s LaFavre Racing Teams number 1 car on the inside coming to the stripe as they took the white flag. From there, Clanton held on to claim the win as the crowd roared its approval.

A multi-car crash occurred at the finish line as the leaders came through turn three of the final circuit. Clanton took the checkered flag with Kevin Cywinski the runner-up by .671 seconds. Mike Garvey, Gary St. Amant and Reed Sorenson rounded out the top- five finishers.

Clanton pockets $20,165 for the win including a $3,750 bonus from VP Racing Fuels for winning from the pole.

Clanton holds a 67-point margin over Gary St. Amant in the championship point’s chase with five events still remaining.

The 2002 ASA Racing Series is next in action on Monday, September 2, for the annual Labor Day Miller Lite 300 at the Minnesota State Fair Speedway in St. Paul (MN). The race will take the green flag just after 2 p.m. (Central).

ASA Jani-King 200
Memphis Motorsports Park Results

MEMPHIS, Tenn. –

1)(1) Joey Clanton, Chevrolet, 200
2)(5) Kevin Cywinski, Chevrolet, 200
3)(21) Mike Garvey, Chevrolet, 200
4)(4) Gary St. Amant, Chevrolet, 200
5)(12) Reed Sorenson, Chevrolet, 200
6)(9) David Hole, Chevrolet, 200
7)(10) Dan Fredrickson, Chevrolet, 200
8)(13) Todd Kluever, Chevrolet, 200
9)(2) Butch Miller, Chevrolet, 200
10)(15) Rick Beebe, Ford, 200
11)(6) Casey Smith, Chevrolet, 200
12)(7) Chris Wimmer, Chevrolet, 199, accident
13)(25) Greg Edwards, Chevrolet, 199
14)(24) Greg Stewart, Pontiac, 198, accident
15)(29) Richard Fincher, Chevrolet, 198, accident
16)(16) Wade Day, Chevrolet, 198, driver fatigue
17)(27) J.C. Beattie Jr., Chevrolet, 198, accident
18)(11) Peter Cozzolino, Chevrolet, 198
19)(26) Doug Mahlik, Chevrolet, 198
20)(31) Rich Gardner, Chevrolet, 198
21)(17) Bill Plemons Jr., Chevrolet, 197, accident
22)(28) Chad Wood, Chevrolet, 197
23)(20) Kyle Busch, Ford, 197
24)(34) John Webb, Ford, 197
25)(35) John Silverthorne, Chevrolet, 194
26)(19) Ed Brown, Chevrolet, 187
27)(3) Robbie Pyle, Chevrolet, 168
28)(23) Brian Schwartz, Chevrolet, 152, accident
29)(14) Travis Kittleson, Chevrolet, 130
30)(32) Greg Williams, Chevrolet, 130
31)(30) Tim Schmitt, Chevrolet, 129, overheating
32)(22) Russ Tuttle, Chevrolet, 112, transmission
33)(36) Dusty Tutten, Pontiac, 109, clutch
34)(37) Chris Cole, Pontiac, 99, handling
35)(8) David Stremme, Chevrolet, 59, accident
36)(18) Jason Boyd, Chevrolet, 59, accident
37)(33) Chris Douglas, Chevrolet, 12, accident

Race Statistics:
Time of Race: 1 hour, 58 minutes, 15 seconds
Average Speed: 76.105 mph
Margin of Victory: 0.671 seconds
Lead Changes: 3 among 3 drivers
Lap Leaders: Clanton, 1-106; Miller, 107-128; Cywinski, 129-198; Clanton, 199-200
Cautions: 10 for 67 laps

ASA Racing Series points after 15 of 20 events: 1) Clanton, 2,599; 2) St. Amant, 2,532; 3) Cywinski, 2,489; 4) Stremme, 2,404; 5) Fredrickson, 2,292; 6) Pyle, 2,259; 7) Garvey, 2,2,05; 8) Kluever, 2,100; 9) Busch, 2,097; 10) Beebe, 2,051.


See also
Article posted by staff on August 25, 2002.