Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — Don Martin II
Date Posted — August 27, 2002
| More

ANTIOCH, California -- Holding off a fierce challenge from David Hayes Jr. in the final laps, runaway point leader Jim Barton scored the victory in the 20 lap All Pro Series Dwarf Car main event Saturday night at Antioch Speedway. It was the sixth win of the season at Antioch for Barton aboard his BCH Manufacturing sponsored car as Hays settled for a close second ahead of Curt Jordan. Rookie Daniel Mendes led every lap from the pole to win the non stop 20 lap Pure Stock feature ahead of Kevin Beard and point leader Melissa Hansen.

The 15 Dwarf Cars ran two eight lap qualifying heat reaces with wins going to Hays and David Barton. Hays continued his momentum by making a late pass on John Barker to win the four lap Trophy Dash. Bill Baughman led the opening tour of the main event before J. Barton raced by for the lead on a lap two restart with Ricardo Rivera and Jordan racing into second and third. Bill Emmerson and Dan Williams tangled in Turn 2 for a lap five caution flag. J. Barton continued to lead Rivera on the restart, but Jordan took second on a lap seven restart. An outside move on the back stretch of the eighth lap gained Hays second from Jordan before Christian Rezentes spun for a lap eight caution flag. J. Barton continued to lead on the restart ahead of Hays as Mike Roderick settled into third. A lap 15 caution flag flew for another Rezentes spin and Rezentes was black flagged for causing two yellows. J. Barton led the restart ahead of Hays and Jordan, but Hays began to pressure Barton hard. An inside move racing to the white flag gained Hays the lead, but J. Barton raced underneath Hays down the back stretch on the last lap to reclaim the lead and victory. Hays settled for second ahead of Jordan, Barker and Ray Etherton.

There were 20 Pure Stocks in action, and eight lap qualifying heat race wins went to Lynn Zehr, Megan McCown and Tim Welance. Kenny Neu won the five lap Trophy Dash as he was subbing for his son Buck Neu. For the second straight week, the Pure Stock main event ran without a caution flag, and pole sitter Mendes raced into the lead at the start ahead of Beard and Hansen. Title contender M. McCown had battled her way into the top five, but an infield excursion off of Turn 2 cost her several spots. K. Neu was running fourth by lap ten. Mendes ran just ahead of K. Beard, but he made a couple impessive late moves in traffic to seal the victory. Behind the impressive Mendes, Beard was a career best second ahead of Hansen, Denise McCown and Zehr as Neu suffered a flat tire on the last lap.



H 1-David Hays Jr., Ray Etherton, Mark Searles, Mark Tillinger, Ricardo Rivera.

H 2-David Barton, John Barker, Rick Rogers, Curt Jordan, Jim Barton.

DASH-Hays, Barker, D. Barton.

MAIN EVENT-J. Barton, Hays, Jordan, Barker, Etherton, M. Tillinger, Christian Rezentes, Dan Williams, D. Barton, Rogers, Rivera, Bill Baughman, Searles, Bill Emmerson, Mike Roderick (DQ).


H 1-Lynn Zehr, Denise McCown, Melissa Hansen, Richard Shearer, Brian Belding.

H 2-Megan McCown, Kenny Neu, Kevin Beard, Jason Hayes, Scott Reeves.

H 3-Tim Welance, Trevor Clymens, Daniel Mendes, Brian Beard, Eric Berendsen.

DASH-Neu, Clymens, M. McCown.

MAIN EVENT-Mendes, K. Beard, Hansen, D. McCown, Zehr, Shearer, M. McCown, Hayes, Justin Mincey, Neu, Belding, Berendsen, Clymsens, Tom Chiaro, Reeves, Welance, B. Beard, Cody Scott, Dave Lexer, Steve Perry.####

See also
Article posted by staff on August 27, 2002.