Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — Geoff Briggs
Date Posted — April 20, 2004
| More

COMMERCE CITY, Colorada -- Over 120 vehicles filled the pits Saturday night for racing action at Rocky Mountain National Speedway.

The first class on the track was the Thunder Truck group, with most of the trucks still sitting at home broken, they brought a small field but they entertained the fans. Matt Willams from Denver took the heat race. In the main event, there were 5 trucks trying to go through the turn at once, but in the end it was Larry Lentz from

Aurora taking the win over Willams, and Tuff Truck graduate Shawn Orth.

The massive Econo Stock field was next on the track and they brought 38 cars to do battle. Randy Grubb claimed heat one over Bobby Kuehl, and Chris Naeb. In the second heat it was Mikel Gerdes taking the win over Ron McCullough and Mark Neff. Bob Foster claimed heat three over Chris Walton and Rick Rife. Shawn Bagby had second locked down until he spun in turn 2. The fourth heat came to a crashing ending when Zach Hilzer and Rae Anne Parks collided in turn 1. George Bertsche took the win over Chris Cox and Barb DeWald. Charlie Coleman took the lead from Shad Cooper and took the first B Main over Cooper, Bagby, James Neville, Brandon Davison, and Scott Pratt who made his first A Main. Josh McCray finished 7th but also got to move to the A when Chris Cox scratched. Rick Currier led from green to checkered in the second B main over Zach Hilzer, Tim Carpenter, Kurt Weyand, Joe Donley, and Jeff Dempewolf. Rick Rife took the lead early in the Econo Main Event. A caution on lap 1 was thrown for Rick Currier. On the second lap contact send DeWald hard into the backstretch wall. Scott Pratt decided to make the race more entertaining and moved a tractor tire into the backstretch and by the time the flagman saw the tire; Walton and Weyand were crashed into it. Hilzer took over on lap 10, and cautions for Cooper and Rife were thrown on laps 12 and 13. Hilzer barely held off McCullough for the win over Neff, Bertsche, Carpenter, Coleman, Grubb, Gerdes, a smoking Kuehl, and Pratt.

Bill Riddick took his Camaro to the front of the first Super Stock Heat and stayed there, Mike Vecchiarelli was second over Phyllis Colaizzi, and David Tabor. Curt Elmore took the lead from James Riddick on the second lap to win the second heat over Kelly Jorgenson, Riddick, and Gary Tuttle. Joel Perri took the lead from George McGowand in the third heat, but lost the lead on the last lap to hand the win to Ray Hansen, who was penalized 2 position, so that gave the win to John Benefiel over Steve Worthington, Hansen, and Perri. Gary Adams led from green to checkered in the first B main over Jimmy Donaldson, George McGowand, Kevin Smith, and Charlie Stanek. Victor Ward took the lead from Econo Stock graduate Joe Wheeler on the second lap and took the second B main over Wheeler, Zach Alloway, Rob Asher, Kelly Williams, and Ty Cowell. Worthington got the jump at the green and the race was slowed on lap when George McGowand broke and left on the tow truck. James Riddick brought out the second caution on lap 8 and was done for the night. Donaldson spun and was hit by another car on lap 11 and tore up the car. From there on Benefiel tried to get around Worthington and his patience paid off with a pass on lap 18 for the win. Worthington was second over, B Riddick, Tuttle, Colaizzi, Hansen, Elmore, Vecchiarelli, Ward, and Alloway.

Eric Burwick led from start to finish in the first Modified heat over Danny Concelman and Kevin Christensen. Larry Jackson did the same in heat 2 as he never looked back and won ahead of Lorenzo Lonogria and Steve Lewis. Eddie Edwards took the lead from Adam Hilton on the sixth lap and won ahead of Ken Maloney, and Mike Sagel. Cliff Lawson got by Chris Remetes on the 5th lap to win ahead of Remetes, and Beau Speicher. Don Shepherd never looked back in the first B Main over Mark Bailey, Michael Daut, and Adam Hilton. In the second B main it went to Rich Martin over George Rabbitt, Jess Anderson, and Conrad Burkhardt. Jim Beaman took the lead from Garfield Lopez on the fourth lap and won the third B over Chris Burk, Lopez, and Jeff Hunter. Lawson grabbed the lead early in the main event, and Concelman took over on lap 2. Lawson regained the lead on lap 4, and a caution was thrown for Adam Hilton. Lorenzo Longoria spun for a caution on lap 9 ending his top 5 run. On the 16th lap, a caution was thrown for Hilton, and he was done for the night. Lawson held on for the win and Burwick beat Concelman by a bumper for second ahead of Bailey, Jackson, Speicher, Shepherd, Lewis, Burk and Christensen.

The Cruisers had a good field of cars and the team of Ty/Lee Cooper took the win ahead of Ed Cray/Kevin Johnson, Kenny Hogarth/David Michaels, Barb DeWald/Geoff Briggs from the back, and Kent/Jerry Hegwood. The Hegwood's led the first 3 laps of the main before Hogarth/Michaels got by and they were the dominant car until Grant Wheeler/Joe Bellas blew a tire in turn 4 in the station wagon and the Hogarth team hit them to end their night and hand the lead to the Coopers. The Coopers took the win over Cray/Johnson, Hegwood/Hegwood, John Nuhn/Bob Quina, and Bobby Duran/Geoff Briggs from the back.####

See also
Article posted by staff on April 20, 2004.