Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — Chaparral Speedway
Date Posted — October 02, 2004
| More

EAGLE, Idaho -- He’s still a high school student in Gresham, Ore., but Brian Geizler ran like a veteran Saturday night to win the Northwest Sprintcar Racing Association season finale at Chaparral Speedway. Rick Brown finished fourth in the 40-lap main event to move past Pat Bliss of West Linn, Ore., and win the NSRA season championship. Brown finished fourth, while Bliss finished ninth. Bliss entered the night with an eight-point lead in the season points. Brown had a 536-527 edge over Bliss at night’s end. Geizler, 17, was the ninth different winner in the nine NSRA races this season. Originally a non-point race, the Chaparral race became the NSRA championship race after two consecutive sprint car dates were rained out. Danny Lyons of Boise, Idaho, finished second in the main event. Randy Sellars of Boise collected the Idaho Six-cylinder Racing League season championship by the slimmest of margins. Sellars won the 25-lap feature with Boise’s Dean Waltman all over his rear end. Waltman and Sellars were running neck-and-neck in the season standings. Steve Spoor of Star, Idaho, concluded his domination of the Idaho Midget Racing Association with a victory in the league’s season finale. Spoor won six of the eight IMRA races run this year. A couple yellows slowed the action as Rob Lindsey of Marysville, Wash., found the dirt off of Turn 3 and Brad Curtis of Edmonds, Wash., went around on the backstretch later in the race. Jeramie Fuss of Kuna, Idaho, took advantage of the misfortune of Louis Lopez of Twin Falls, Idaho, to win the Street Stock feature race. The race was abbreviated by two multicar accidents, including the wreck on Lap 41 that took out the top two drivers, including the race leader Lopez. Lopez was cruising along in the lead when his rear axle broke. Lopez slid out of Turn 4 and blocked the front stretch, then second-place Mike Wilson of Twin Falls plowed into Lopez’s car. Lopez had collected the quick qualifying time of the night with a 18.160-second lap and roared past both Jeff Wurtz and Fuss to go from third to first in Turn 4 of Lap 22. Scott Wilcox of Nampa, Idaho, saved the best for last in the Mini Stock feature. In the waning laps of the race, Wilcox passed Kevan Larson of Kimberly, Idaho. It was Wilcox’s first main event win of the season. For more information about Chaparral Speedway, log on to the track’s Web site or call (208) 939-RACE.

Chaparral Speedway Eagle, Idaho Saturday’s results Main events Northwest Sprintcar Racing Association -- 1. Brian Geizler, Gresham, Ore.; 2. Danny Lyons, Boise, Idaho; 3. Drew Church, Mukilteo, Wash. Idaho Six-cylinder Racing League modifieds -- 1. Randy Sellars, Boise, Idaho; 2. Dean Waltman, Boise; 3. Pat Quinn, Boise Idaho Midget Racing Association -- 1. Steve Spoor, Star, Idaho; 2. Spence Gatrell, Portland, Ore.; 3. Nick Seidelman, Tacoma, Wash. Street Stock -- 1. Jeramie Fuss, Kuna, Idaho; 2. Jerry Rice, Twin Falls, Idaho; 3. Steve Bosselman, Nyssa, Ore. Mini Stock -- 1. Scott Wilcox, Nampa, Idaho; 2. Nick Gibson, Nampa; 3. Kevan Larson, Kimberly, Idaho

Fast qualifiers NSRA -- Andy Alberding, Roseburg, Ore., 13.013 seconds ISRL -- Sellars, 16.814 IMRA -- Kenny Farris, DuPont, Wash., 15.000 Super Stock -- Casey Chandler, Boise, Idaho, 17.750 Street Stock - Louis Lopez, Twin Falls, Idaho, 18.160

Preliminary heats NSRA No. 1 -- 1. Geizler; 2. Church; 3. Cameron McLean, Duncan, British Columbia NSRA No. 2 -- 1. Todd Coleman, Lynnwood, Wash.; 2. Monty Zema Jr., Spirit Lake, Idaho; 3. Jeff Bird, Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia NSRA No. 3 -- 1. Pat Bliss, West Linn, Ore.; 2. Alberding; 3. Rick Brown, Springfield, Ore. IMRA -- 1. Nick Seidelman, Tacoma, Wash.; 2. Steve Spoor, Star, Idaho; 3. Rob Lindsey, Marysville, Wash.####

See also
Article posted by staff on October 02, 2004.