Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Source — James Essex –NARA PR
Date Posted — October 05, 2004
| More

LEXINGTON, Kentucky--The NARA DirtCar Series heads to the Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, GA for the 15th Annual Coca-Cola "Dixie Shootout" this Saturday Night, October 9. The 50 lap "Real Power Rumble" will be a 50 lap conclude the 2004 Dixie Shootout Weekend with $10,000 up for grabs to the winner with several bonus dollars on the line for the two nights on racing. On Friday Night, October 8 there will be a 50 lap $10,000 to win feature to open the "Dixie Shootout Weekend".

Dixie Speedway VP and Promoter, Mike Swims has announced that that the highest finishing driver in Saturday's segment of the "Dixie Shootout" that also competed in Friday Night's main event will receive a $10,000 bonus. If a driver wins both Friday and Saturday Night's main event they will receive another $10,000 bonus and if a former "Dixie Shootout" champion wins both nights they will receive a $10,000 bonus. Saturday's event will see no time trials with drivers drawing for heat race lineups. The Crown Spray Power Heat Races will follow and then the O'Reilly Auto Parts B-Mains will take place setting the starting lineup for the "Shootout".

The cameras of ESPN2 will catch all the action of the "Dixie Shootout" on Saturday Night, October 9 as the event will be taped for broadcast on ESPN2 at a date and time to be announced in the future. It will be the fourth event for the North American Racing Association to be taped for broadcast on ESPN2 in 2004. This is all part of the NARA DirtCar Series television package for 2004 which includes ESPN2 production of events at Florence, KY, Bardstown, KY and Chillicothe, OH. The NARA on ESPN2 is brought to you by: Lucas Oil Products, Crown Spray Power, O'Reilly Auto Parts, Arizona Sport Shirts, Columbus Classic and RealPower.

The "Real Power Rumble" featuring the NARA DirtCars will see current NARA point’s leader, Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, IL lead a strong contingent of NARA drivers into Dixie Speedway. Babb currently leads R.J. Conley of Wheelersburg, OH, John Gill of Mitchell, IN, Greg Johnson of Lima, OH and Hall of Famer, Freddy Smith of Seymour, TN in the race to decide who will become the first NARA champion.

Real Power recently joined the NARA DirtCar Series as a major sponsor. Contour Hardening of Indianapolis, IN is the creators and marketers of Real Power. Real Power is the world's first true chassis integrated generator designed to work off the existing transmission power take off (PTO) gear. It can produce up to 12,000 watts of true AC power with no modification to your truck and it installs between the frame rails. Real Power produces enough power to run your house. For more information on Real Power visit their website at

Advanced reserve seats for the "Dixie Shootout" are available at $50.00 for both nights. Fans can charge by phone with Visa/MasterCard by phoning (770) 926-5315 from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. daily. Adult general admission tickets, available at the gate only, are $25 each, student ages 12 to 17 $10.00 each day and children 11 years of age and under are free. Pit admission, at the gate only, is $35 per day. Pit gates will open at 2:00 p.m. and general admission gates at 4:00 p.m. Warm-ups are slated to begin at 6:00 p.m.

Dixie Speedway is located off of I-75 (exit 277), then six miles east on State Route 92. For further information phone (770) 926-5315 or visit the Dixie Speedway website located at

Previous Dixie Speedway "Shootout" Winners

1990--Bill Ingram

1991--Tony Reaid

1992--Buddy Morris

1993--Scott Bloomquist

1994--Scott Bloomquist

1995--Bill Frye

1996--Wendell Wallace

1997--Billy Moyer

1998--Tim Hitt

1999--Dale McDowell

2000--Scott Bloomquist

2001--Dale McDowell

2002--Chub Frank

2003--Don O'Neal####

See also
Article posted by staff on October 05, 2004.