Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register


Date Posted — October 08, 2004
| More

PERRIS, California Perris Auto Speedway has received a dozen new entries for the 9th Annual Budweiser Oval Nationals, presented by Temecula Valley Pipe & Supply, on October 28th, 29th and 30th.

Twenty-five time Northern California champion Brent Kaeding, two-time USAC National Champion Tony Elliott, Australian born Peter Murphy, upcoming star Mike Spencer and popular Valvoline USAC/CRA regular Steve Ostling top the latest group of entries.

Campbell, California’s Kaeding had a career best third in the Oval Nationals in 2001 behind his son Bud and Tony Jones. The veteran drive won every single NARC Championship from 1993 through the demise of the club in 2000. All told, he has won 13 NARC Championships and 12 Golden State Challenge titles.

Elliott, who will be driving for car owner Jeff Walker, hails from Kokomo, Indiana and won the USAC National Sprint Car Championship in 1998 and 2000. Last year Elliott and Walker teamed up to win the prestigious Western World Championship at Manzanita Speedway in Phoenix. His best finish in the Oval Nationals was a fourth in 1996 and again in 2002. Elliott is currently ranked fifth in 2004 USAC National Sprint Car points.

Murphy, who came within a lap of winning the Valvoline USAC/CRA main event at The PAS on September 18th, will be back behind the wheel of Harlan Willis black #45 sprint car. While Murphy is seeking his first ever win at The PAS, Willis’ is the second winningest car owner at the Riverside County clay oval.

Temecula’s Spencer has been a favorite of the fans at The PAS since his days in a Lightning Sprint Car. He turned in one of his best performances at the 2002 Oval Nationals. The college student started that Saturday night in the C Main and worked his way to a hard earned fifth in the A main event.

Corona, California’s Ostling is always a threat at The PAS driving for long time open wheel car owner Bruce Fischer. The duo combined to win the prestigious Jack Kindoll classic at The PAS in 2002.

Other entries received this week include veteran Dan Hillberg of Whittier, teenage sensation Chad Boespflug from Hanford, longtime Southern California stock car star Rick Becker of Highland, 2001 USAC Western Midget Champion Danny Ebberts of Canyon Lake, and the Arizona duo of Brandon Lane from Mesa and Peoria’s Mike Leslie.

In addition to those drivers, famed Indiana car owner Bill Biddle has entered the BWB Racing #62 with a driver to be named later.

The Budweiser Oval Nationals is only three weeks away. It features one of the richest purses in sprint car racing with over $100,000.00 up for grabs. The winner of the 50-lap finale on October 30th will take home $30,000.00.

For more information on the Budweiser Oval Nationals or tickets, please call (909) 940-0134.####

See also
Article posted by staff on October 08, 2004.