Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register

InsideGroove - Race Report


Dirt Late Models

By: Gary Jacob
Where: Fort Morgan, CO
On: 08/03/2002
Search by Keywords
Search by Track
Search by Date

Fort Morgan, CO -- In a wild 20 lap feature that saw 8 different lead changes, Bill Sabin from Denver posted his first $1,000 Colorado Late Model Association win of the 2002 season Saturday night at I-76 Speedway. Sabin also won his heat race and came from third starting in the feature race. Series point leader Brett Hallmark rallied late to finish second with Dave Garmann third ahead of recent feature winner Mike Cox. The teams were coming off an off-weekend, but it was busy two days for many of them as several raced in the WDRA event in Colby, KS on Friday night.

Fifteen late models appeared for the race, but Chris Persichetti crashed in hot laps to end his night. Cox won the Leary Racing Products Dash ahead of Steve Lewis and defending series champion John Kuchar. Pole starter Ken Brack took the lead at the start of heat 1, but was passed by Sabin on lap 3. Sabin won with Brack second ahead of Cox. Garmann started outside front row in heat 2 and charged into the lead. On the final lap, Rick Lieser was able to pass him to gain the win. Jim Clifton had to pit with damage after some contact racing with Hallmark, who finished third behind Garmann.

The lineup for the 20 lapper was an invert 4 off the heat finishes, putting Brack and Garmann on the front row with Sabin and Lieser in row 2. Cox and Hallmark shared row 3 in the 14 car grid. On the first lap, Hallmark and Kuchar tangled. Kuchar spun and was run over by Bill Smith. Smith had to pit to check his damage. Garmann led the first lap with Brack taking over on lap 2. Garmann regained the lead on lap 3, but it was Brack back in front on lap 5. Brack nearly flipped onto his side on lap 6, but caught it with just a spin. Garmann led through lap 8, but Sabin took over on lap 9. Garmann retook the lead on lap 10 and the final caution came on lap 14 for a spin by Terry Loos. Sabin took the lead for good on lap 15. Hallmark rallied to a second ahead of Garmann, Cox, Kuchar, Clifton, Steve Lewis, Lieser, Scott Lewis and Brack. Hallmark paces the points by 131 over Kuchar with Cox another 36 points back. Lieser is just 15 points back of Cox and fifth ranked Brack is 34 behind Lieser.

August 9-10 will see the richest dirt late model weekend in years in the Denver area as Rocky Mountain Raceway holds the Rumble in the Rockies. The Friday night portion pays $2,500 to win and the Saturday night 50 lapper will pay $5,000 to win. A large turnout is expected as the event is sanctioned by WDRA, CLMA, NCRA and the Arizona dirt late model group.

Summary Dash-Mike Cox, Steve Lewis, John Kuchar. Heat 1-Bill Sabin, Ken Brack, Cox, Bill Smith, Steve Lewis. Heat 2-Rick Lieser, Dave Garmann, Brett Hallmark, Kuchar, Scott Lewis. Main-Sabin, Hallmark, Garmann, Cox, Kuchar, Jim Clifton, Steve Lewis, Lieser, Scott Lewis, Brack, Smith, Terry Loos, J T Botts, Scott Cimfl.

InsideGroove Latest Reports | InsideGroove Archives
About InsideGroove