Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register

InsideGroove - Race Report


IMCA Modifieds, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, Pro Fours and Bombers

By: Gary Jacob
Where: Pahrump, NV
On: 10/25/2003
Search by Keywords
Search by Track
Search by Date

Pahrump, NV -- Street Stock point leader Frank Bridwell pulled off another clean sweep in the final night race of the 2003 season at Pahrump Valley Speedway. He beat heat winner Ray Elam in the feature with Dale Daffern in third. Making a major dent into Kenneth Boardmans mini stock point lead, Rick VanBuytene won their 14 car main event with third ranked Ryan Crotty second ahead of William Delahunte. Double division racer VanBuytene also won his heat race. The IMCA Modifieds had just three cars in action and young Josh Stringer got wins in both the heat and feature. Pro Four point leader Bob Clark won both their heat and feature with Harold Killian second in the main event. Mark Kunz swept to wins in both the heat and feature for the bombers.

The 13 street stocks were divided into a pair of heat races with Elam winning the first ahead of Daffern and Mike Suber. Bridwell beat usual dirt modified racer Todd Nunnally and Dan Snowden in heat 2. Bridwell then outraced Elam and Daffern in the feature with point runnerup Alan Levinson in fourth ahead of Jerry Duncan, third ranked Lindsey Boone and Ron Moffatt. There were 16 mini stocks for the heat action and 14 survived to start their main event. VanBuytene beat Tammy Waters in heat 1 and Delahunte won heat 2 over Brett Iverson and William Brown. J R Caha won heat 3 with Denise Pryor second. VanBuytene started the night 42 points back of Boardman and just 2 in front of R Crotty. In the feature, VanBuytene won with R Crotty second ahead of Delahunte, Joe Rogers Jr, Iverson, Caha, Waters and Boardman.

Stringer won the IMCA Modified heat race over division newcomer Sean Crotty and Jon Jensen and in the feature Jensen outdueled S Crotty for second behind winner Stringer. Clark captured the Pro Four heat race ahead of John Pietrorazio Jr and Killian. They had a five car feature with Clark winning ahead of Killian, Pietrorazio Jr, point runnerup Bart Benton and third ranked William Benton. Kunz won the bomber heat race ahead of Jason Simpson and Simpson was also second in the feature ahead of Wade Pearson and Anthony Finley.

The track has made the events on Nov 1 and Nov 15 twilight shows starting at 3 PM. These same five divisions race on the 1st and the 15th will feature a 50 lap, $500 to win Mini Stock Nationals event with the street stocks and Pro Fours also racing. That day will end with powder puff and mechanics racing.

Summary Bomber Heat-Mark Kunz, Jason Simpson, Anthony Finley, Wade Pearson. Main-Kunz, Simpson, Pearson, Finley. Pro Four Heat-Bob Clark, John Pietrorazio Jr, Harold Killian, William Benton, Bart Benton. Main-Clark, Killian, Pietrorazio Jr, B Benton, W Benton. Mini Stock Heat 1-Rick VanBuytene, Tammy Waters, Darold Brown, Charlie True, Bob Talbert. Heat 2-William Delahunte, Brett Iverson, William Brown, Gary Truesdell, Ryan Crotty. Heat 3-J R Caha, Denise Pryor, Kenneth Boardman, Elizabeth Brown, Joe Rogers Jr. Main-VanBuytene, Crotty, Delahunte, Rogers, Iverson, Caha, Waters, Boardman, W Brown, E Brown, Truesdell, Pryor, Talbert, D Brown. Street Stock Heat 1-Ray Elam, Dale Daffern, Mike Suber, Jerry Duncan, Tom Bolling. Heat 2-Frank Bridwell, Todd Nunnally, Dan Snowden, Rick VanBuytene, Lindsey Boone. Main-Bridwell, Elam, Daffern, Alan Levinson, Duncan, Boone, Ron Moffatt, Nunnally, Snowden, VanBuytene, Suber, Bolling, Jon Reygers. IMCA Modified Heat-Josh Stringer, Sean Crotty, Jon Jensen. Main-Stringer, Jensen, Crotty.
InsideGroove Latest Reports | InsideGroove Archives
About InsideGroove