Hot Wood
RacingWest presented by Approved Memory
Log-In .: Register

InsideGroove - Race Report


Pure Stocks, Dwarf Cars and Modified Midgets

By: Gary Jacob
Where: Lake Pleasant, AZ
On: 06/03/2006
Search by Keywords
Search by Track
Search by Date

Lake Pleasant, AZ -- After a second place heat race finish, Gregg Leith raced to his first pure stock feature win at Canyon Raceway on Saturday night. With a heat win and a second place finish, Dan Sheppard should emerge as the new point leader when the points are released. 2005 champion Marlowe Wrightsman ran third and Cody Center stayed in title contention with a heat win and a fourth in the feature run. After a second place heat finish behind track promoter Jeff Stafford, Dean Riggs charged to the Outlaw Dwarf Car feature win with Jerry Larrabee a solid second ahead of Stafford and Scott Winger. Adam Millsap continued his recent domination of the modified midget events with wins in his heat and the feature. Steven Sanchez ran second in the feature action ahead of Jacob Hawkins and Brandon Young.

The pure stocks have a tight five way battle for the track title and C Center won the opening heat race over incoming point leader Aaron Rider and Erv Grunland. Marlowe Wrightsman had a big night as he won heat 2 over Leith and double division racer Stafford. Sheppard won heat 3 ahead of Larry Rider and Michael Humphreys. Dwight Evitt was six points back of A Rider starting the night and Humphreys was three more points back in third. Sheppard and C Center were tied for fourth, just ten points back of the leader. Stafford was a main event scratch to leave a 16 car field. A Rider lost his point lead with a 13th place run. Leith won the feature ahead of Sheppard, Marlowe Wrightsman, C Center, Humphreys, Evitt, Mike Madill, Justin Baroncini, Taylon Center and Tracy Poorman.

Fifteen Arizona Outlaw dwarf cars were divided into three heat races. Stafford beat Riggs and Larrabee in a very tough heat 1. John Saunders won heat 2 over the father-son team of Melvin Spaght and Kelvin Spaght. Mario Razzano outraced Winger in heat 3. Riggs then won the feature race ahead of Larrabee, Stafford, Winger, Jeff Adams, M Razzano, K Spaght, M Spaght, Saunders and Paul Ross. Fifteen modified midgets were divided into two heat races and Millsap won the first ahead of Garrett Guilkey and Hawkins. Nick Aiuto won heat 2 over Sanchez and young Brenden Higgins. Millsap then finished off his perfect night with a feature win ahead of Sanchez, Hawkins, Young, Higgins, Aiuto, Austin Quick, Koty McGullam and Josh Castro.

On June 10, the dirt modifieds return and they will be joined by the super stocks, pure stocks, bombers and lady stocks. The annual track birthday race will be run on June 17 with seven divisions in action. They will each run a main event only with the point leaders starting out front.

Summary Modified Midget Heat 1-Adam Millsap, Garrett Guilkey, Jacob Hawkins, Kyle Norman, Brandon Young. Heat 2-Nick Aiuto, Steven Sanchez, Brenden Higgins, Koty McGullam, Austin Quick. Main-Millsap, Sanchez, Hawkins, Young, Higgins, Aiuto, Quick, McGullam, Josh Castro, Doug Welty, Sean Welty, Norman, Guilkey, Jonathan Patrick, Chad Fife. Dwarf Car Heat 1-Jeff Stafford, Dean Riggs, Jerry Larrabee, Jeff Adams, JimWard. Heat 2-John Saunders, Melvin Spaght, Kelvin Spaght, Paul Ross, Fred Donaldson. Heat 3-Mario Razzano, Scott Winger, Joe Razzano, J R Pyke, Dan Yirku. Main-Riggs, Larrabee, Stafford, Winger, Adams, M Razzano, K Spaght, M Spaght, Saunders, Ross, Ward, Pyke, J Razzano, Donaldson, Yirku. Pure Stock Heat 1-Cody Center, Aaron Rider, Erv Grunland, Justin Baroncini, Tracy Poorman. Heat 2-Marlowe Wrightsman, Gregg Leith, Jeff Stafford, Dwight Evitt, Taylon Center. Heat 3-Dan Sheppard, Larry Rider, Michael Humphreys, Michael Wrightsman, Mike Madill. Main-Leith, Sheppard, Marlowe Wrightsman, C Center, Humphreys, Evitt, Madill, Baroncini, T Center, Poorman, L Rider, Grunland, A Rider, Jeremy Maggart, Michael Wrightsman, Jon Ross.

InsideGroove Latest Reports | InsideGroove Archives
About InsideGroove